Lead
Examining the case of tax and social transfer policies in Switzerland as an example, this project aims to find out how strongly family policy in the Swiss cantons takes gender-relevant factors into consideration, and what factors promote or hinder evidence-based policy making.

Lay summary

Background
Policy making in the case of taxes and social transfer and its consequences for single parents and couples with children varies widely from canton to canton. Analyses show that, for many couples, splitting paid employment between them does not pay off financially. This is problematic not only for gender equality but also for economic policy.

Aim
The concept of evidence-based policy assumes that policy should benefit from systematically obtained, empirically based and argumentatively well-founded knowledge. This project examines whether evidence-based information was available to the cantonal policy makers for decisions in the tax and social transfer policy area, and what influence this information had on policy making. The study will also focus on factors that promoted or hindered evidence-based policy making.
As a starting point of the analysis, an inventory of relevant family policy decisions at the cantonal level will be drawn up. Then it will be examined whether the policy making was based on evidence-based information and how differences among the cantons can be explained. Selected decision-making processes in six cantons will also be investigated as case studies with the aim to compiling a detailed analysis of the effects.

Significance
Gender mainstreaming aims to take into consideration the direct and indirect effects of all policy decisions on gender equality. A precondition for this is that evidence-based information is used in the policy-making process. For this reason, in addition to scientific publications, the project team plans to develop a checklist for use by cantonal administrations and parliaments. The checklist should sharpen awareness of the effects of tax and social transfer policy on gender equality.

Lead
Le projet étudie, à travers l’exemple de la politique fiscale et de l’organisation des transferts sociaux, à quel point la politique familiale des cantons suisses intègre les faits concernant le genre et quels facteurs favorisent ou gênent l’action politique fondée sur des données scientifiquement établies.

Lay summary

Contexte
La conception de la politique fiscale et des transferts sociaux, ainsi que leurs répercussions sur les familles monoparentales et les couples avec enfants, divergent fortement d’un canton à l’autre. Des analyses montrent que la répartition de l’activité lucrative entre les deux parents n’est pas rentable pour beaucoup de couples. Cet état de fait pose un problème non seulement pour l’égalité entre hommes et femmes, mais aussi sur le plan de la politique économique.

But
Le concept de l’action politique fondée sur des données scientifiquement établies part du principe que la politique devrait profiter d’un savoir obtenu de manière systématique, empirique et motivé par une argumentation. Le présent projet étudie si les femmes et hommes politiques cantonaux disposaient d’informations fondées sur des données scientifiquement établies pour prendre leurs décisions et quelle influence ces informations ont eu sur la conception des politiques. Il s’intéresse en outre aux facteurs qui ont favorisé ou entravé une élaboration de politiques fondée sur des données scientifiquement établies.
Comme point de départ pour l’analyse, un inventaire des décisions de politique familiale pertinentes au niveau cantonal sera dressé. Le projet étudie si l’élaboration de politiques a reposé sur des données scientifiquement établies et comment les différences entre les cantons peuvent s’expliquer. Il examine en outre une sélection de processus décisionnels dans six cantons en tant qu’études de cas pour analyser en détail les liens de causalité.

Portée
L’intégration du genre (Gender Mainstreaming) a pour objectif de prendre en compte les répercussions directes et indirectes de toutes les décisions politiques sur l’égalité entre femmes et hommes. La prise en compte dans le processus décisionnel politique d’informations fondée sur des données établies scientifiquement en est une condition préalable. Le projet vise donc à élaborer, outre des publications scientifiques, une liste de contrôle pour les administrations et les parlements cantonaux. Cette liste de contrôle doit renforcer la sensibilité aux répercussions de la politique fiscale et de celle des transferts sur l‘égalité entre femmes et hommes.