Lead
Limited growth opportunities and growth dependencies characterize tourism, construction and healthcare industries in mountain areas. This research project aims to analyze the role of social innovations in decreasing such growth dependencies.

Lay summary

The tourism, construction and healthcare industries represent the main pillars of Swiss mountain economies and they are increasingly under pressure to adjust to the mounting economic challenge of limited growth opportunities. They are facing various environmental, economic and societal growth limits.

At the same time, a general trend towards the adoption of new types of innovations that involve novel forms of collaboration as well as innovations that meet social needs can be observed. This is referred to as social innovations. There are indications that enterprises, industries and regions are adopting social innovations to address social needs and problems. While social innovations are increasingly adopted in Swiss mountain regions, there is little systematic knowledge about these kinds of innovations and, in particular, their potential to shift away from the traditional growth orientation and the lock-in that this orientation produces for industries and regions.

This research analyzes the current practices of social innovations in the three above mentioned sectors. It further evaluates their contribution to making enterprises and regions less growth dependent. We will compare the industries in three Swiss mountain regions (Haslital, Adelboden and Grindelwald) that strongly differ in terms of economic structure, history and challenges they are facing.

Lead
Begrenzte Wachstumschancen sowie Wachstumsabhängigkeiten prägen die Tourismus-, Bau- und Gesundheitsbranche in Berggebieten. Ziel dieses Forschungsprojektes ist es, die Rolle sozialer Innovationen bei der Verringerung solcher Wachstumsabhängigkeiten zu untersuchen.

Lay summary

Die Tourismus-, Bau- und Gesundheitsbranche sind die tragenden Säulen der Schweizer Wirtschaft in den Berggebieten. Diese stehen zunehmend unter Druck, sich an die wirtschaftliche Herausforderung begrenzter Wachstumsmöglichkeiten anzupassen. Sie sind mit verschiedenen ökologischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Wachstumsgrenzen konfrontiert.

Gleichzeitig ist ein allgemeiner Trend hin zu der Einführung neuer Arten von Innovationen auszumachen, die sowohl neue Formen der Zusammenarbeit umfassen als auch soziale Bedürfnisse befriedigen. Diese werden als soziale Innovationen bezeichnet. Es gibt Anzeichen dafür, dass Unternehmen, Branchen und Regionen mithilfe jener Innovationen soziale Bedürfnisse und Probleme adressieren. Während in den Schweizer Berggebieten soziale Innovationen zunehmend Einzug halten, gibt es wenig systematisches Wissen über diese Art von Innovationen und insbesondere über ihr Potenzial, sich von der traditionellen Wachstumsorientierung und dem «Lock-in», die diese Ausrichtung für Branchen und Regionen hervorruft, zu lösen.

Das Projekt analysiert die aktuellen Praktiken sozialer Innovationen in den drei oben genannten Branchen. Zudem werden deren Beitrag zu einer verringerten Wachstumsabhängigkeit von Unternehmen und Regionen untersucht. In drei Schweizer Berggebieten (Haslital, Adelboden und Grindelwald), die sich in ihrer Wirtschaftsstruktur, ihrer Geschichte sowie ihren Herausforderungen stark unterscheiden, werden die Branchen miteinander verglichen.