Lead
The project is studying the role of a variety of energy storage technologies in the context of the Swiss energy transition. By using both a social planner approach and an electricity market approach this research will contribute to a better understanding of how to integrate energy storage in long-term energy planning processes and help inform a comprehensive energy storage strategy for Switzerland.

Lay summary

The objective of the project is to perform a holistic investigation of the role of competing and/or complementary electric, thermal and chemical energy storage technologies in achieving greater penetration of renewable energy and more efficient use of energy. Detailed and robust information and data on the current status and the prospects of technical and cost performance will be collected and will serve as a basis for a series of interviews with experts. Two distinct but complementary models will be developed and a comparative analysis across various scenarios will be performed. Conclusions will be drawn with regard to the feasibility and value proposition of the deployment of energy storage technologies at various scales.

The role of energy storage is subject to an intense debate reflecting a lack of consensus about the techno-economic potential and respective merits of the various energy storage technologies. This is largely due to the wide spectrum of possible applications, the potential to deliver multiple services (revenue stacking), uncertain storage technology costs and unclear electricity market developments which make economic assessments difficult. This work will contribute to a better understanding of how to integrate energy storage in long-term energy planning processes such as the Swiss energy transition to 2050.

Lead
Ce projet explore le rôle de différentes technologies de stockage dans le contexte de la transition énergétique. En combinant une démarche d’allocation optimale des ressources avec une modélisation des marchés électriques, cette recherche permettra une meilleure compréhension de l’intégration du stockage énergétique dans les processus de planification énergétique à long terme et contribuera au développement d’une stratégie pour le déploiement de ces technologies en Suisse.

Lay summary

L’objectif de ce projet est de conduire une analyse holistique du rôle potentiel de différentes technologies de stockage énergétique concurrentes et/ou complémentaires dans l’accroissement de la part d’énergie renouvelable dans le mix énergétique et dans une utilisation plus efficace de l’énergie. Des informations détaillées et robustes seront collectées pour décrire l’état de l’art et le potentiel futur de ces technologies en termes de performance et de coût, et serviront de base à une série d’interviews avec des experts. Deux modèles distincts seront développés et une analyse comparative sera menée pour différents scénarios. Des conclusions seront élaborées quant à la faisabilité et la pertinence du déploiement de ces technologies à diverses échelles.

Le rôle du stockage énergétique fait débat de par l’absence de consensus quant au potentiel technique et économique et aux mérites respectifs des différentes technologies. Ceci est largement dû à la grande diversité d’applications possibles, à la possibilité de délivrer différents services, à l’incertitude relative aux coûts des technologies et au développement du marché électrique qui rendent l’évaluation économique difficile. Ce travail contribuera à une meilleure compréhension du potentiel d’intégration du stockage énergétique dans la transition énergétique Suisse à l’horizon 2050.