Lead
This project combines the socioeconomic and resource flow knowledge of two chairs at ETH Zurich, in order to explore the hidden economic and environmental potential of different paths towards a sustainable circular economy in Switzerland.

Lay summary

Background
Current research and practical applications of the circular economy concept reveal two major caveats: Firstly, closing material loops in a value chain does not always lead to better environmental performance – a circular economy is not sustainable per se. And secondly, the current understanding of a circular economy is often limited to waste management. This neglects important aspects of the value chain such as potential new business models for bringing about possible improvements.

Aims
With this project our aim is to define a sustainable circular economy by integrating resource and socioeconomic perspectives, in order to understand material circularity in a holistic way. To this end, we aim to address the overarching research question: What are the hidden potentials for improving resource management in Switzerland, and how could they pave the way towards a sustainable circular economy?

Importance
To achieve these objectives, this project will carry out and consolidate economic and ecological analyses of selected value chains, to help policy makers improve regulatory frameworks and develop incentive systems to provide adequate framework conditions for a sustainable circular economy.

Lead
Um die bislang verborgenen ökonomischen und ökologischen Potenziale einer Kreislaufwirtschaft in der Schweiz zu analysieren, kombinieren wir das Wissen zweier Forschungsgruppen der ETH Zürich zu Material- und Ressourcenflüssen und zu sozioökonomischen Veränderungsprozessen.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Aktuelle Forschung und praktische Anwendungen einer Kreislaufwirtschaft weisen zwei Schwachstellen auf: das Schliessen von Materialkreisläufen in einer Wertschöpfungskette führt nicht automatisch zu einer ökologischen Verbesserung. Eine Kreislaufwirtschaft ist also nicht automatisch nachhaltig. Zusätzlich wird das derzeitige Verständnis einer Kreislaufwirtschaft oft auf Abfallmanagement reduziert. Dadurch werden wichtige Aspekte der Wertschöpfungskette, wie z.B. neue Geschäftsmodelle für mögliche Verbesserungen ausser Acht gelassen.

Ziel
Mit diesem Projekt wollen wir eine nachhaltige Kreislaufwirtschaft holistisch definieren, indem eine Ressourcen- und Materialflussperspektive und eine sozioökonomische Perspektive kombiniert werden. Dabei adressieren wir die folgende übergreifende Forschungsfrage: Was sind die Potenziale für ein verbessertes Ressourcenmanagement in der Schweiz und wie kann der Weg zu einer nachhaltigen Kreislaufwirtschaft eingeschlagen werden?

Bedeutung
Zur Erreichung dieser Ziele werden wir ökonomische und ökologische Analysen zu ausgewählten Wertschöpfungsketten durchführen und eng verzahnen.
Dabei wollen wir politische Entscheidungsträger unterstützen, um adäquate Rahmenbedingungen für eine nachhaltige Kreislaufwirtschaft schaffen zu können (z.B. Anreizsysteme, Standards).