Lead
This project combines the socioeconomic and resource flow knowledge of two chairs at ETH Zurich, in order to explore the hidden economic and environmental potential of different paths towards a sustainable circular economy in Switzerland.

Lay summary

Background
Current research and practical applications of the circular economy concept reveal two major caveats: Firstly, closing material loops in a value chain does not always lead to better environmental performance – a circular economy is not sustainable per se. And secondly, the current understanding of a circular economy is often limited to waste management. This neglects important aspects of the value chain such as potential new business models for bringing about possible improvements.

Aims
With this project our aim is to define a sustainable circular economy by integrating resource and socioeconomic perspectives, in order to understand material circularity in a holistic way. To this end, we aim to address the overarching research question: What are the hidden potentials for improving resource management in Switzerland, and how could they pave the way towards a sustainable circular economy?

Importance
To achieve these objectives, this project will carry out and consolidate economic and ecological analyses of selected value chains, to help policy makers improve regulatory frameworks and develop incentive systems to provide adequate framework conditions for a sustainable circular economy.

Lead
Afin d’analyser les potentiels économiques et écologiques encore inexploités d’une économie circulaire en Suisse, nous combinons les connaissances de deux groupes de recherche de l’EPF Zurich sur les flux de matières et de ressources et les processus de changement socio-économiques.

Lay summary

Contexte
Les recherches actuelles ainsi que les applications pratiques d’une économie circulaire présentent deux points faibles: le fait de boucler les cycles de vie des matières sur une chaîne de valeur ne conduit pas automatiquement à une amélioration écologique. Une économie circulaire n’est donc pas nécessairement durable. De plus, les connaissances actuelles sur l’économie circulaire se limitent souvent à la gestion des déchets. Cela ne tient pas compte d'aspects importants des chaînes de valeur, tels que de nouveaux modèles économiques susceptibles d’apporter des améliorations.

Objectifs
Avec ce projet, nous entendons apporter une définition holistique d’une économie circulaire durable, en combinant les perspectives relatives aux flux des matières et des ressources à celles de la socio-économie. C’est pourquoi, nous posons la question de recherche transversale suivante: quels sont les potentiels d’une meilleure gestion des ressources en Suisse et comment peut-on s’engager sur la voie d'une économie circulaire durable?

Importance
Pour atteindre ces objectifs, nous procéderons à des analyses économiques et écologiques de chaînes de valeur sélectionnées et les relierons étroitement, afin d’aider les décideurs politiques à mettre en place les conditions cadres adéquates à une économie circulaire durable (p. ex. systèmes d’incitation, normes).