Lead
This project is examining measures for reducing the consumption of resources in housing. It is also developing a range of approaches for residents, building owners and authorities. The measures relate to the construction, use and renovation phases of residential buildings.

Lay summary

Background
The project will combine methodologies from the natural and social sciences. A major feature is the inclusion of two housing cooperative associations – ABZ, Zurich and SCHL, Lausanne – plus insurer and asset manager Schweizer Mobiliar, whose housing stock (a total of approximately 10,000 apartments) will be studied in depth. Together with these partners we will develop measures to improve resource efficiency. Housing’s ecological impact will be measured using a simulation model.

Aims
The aim of this project is to better understand by which means, and to what extent, the footprint of buildings can be reduced. We will discuss the project’s results with a range of building owners and tenants, together with whom we want to develop effective and consensus-based recommendations whose impacts on comfort, costs, returns and resource consumption are modelled and made transparent. In this way, possible paths for sustainable living can be presented.

Importance
Since 1990, the population of Switzerland has grown by 23 percent, while living space has increased by 40 percent. The latter is one of the main drivers of resource consumption. The project’s recommended measures aim to reduce the material footprint of apartment buildings without increasing their energy consumption. At the same time, acceptance and economic efficiency should also be taken into account. This will be possible thanks to close cooperation with major building owners who co-develop such measures and want to implement them. The project will thus contribute towards Sustainable Development Goal no. 11 (sustainable cities and communities).

Lead
In diesem Projekt untersuchen wir Massnahmen, die den Ressourcenverbrauch des Wohnens senken. Dazu entwickeln wir unterschiedliche Ansätze für die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner, die Gebäudeeigentümerschaft und die Behörden. Die Massnahmen betreffen die Phasen Bau, Nutzung und Sanierung von Wohngebäuden.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Das Projekt verbindet Methoden aus den Natur- und Sozialwissenschaften. Ein Hauptmerkmal ist der Einbezug zweier Wohngenossenschaften – ABZ (Zürich), SCHL (Lausanne) – und der Schweizer Mobiliar, deren Wohnungsbestände, total ca. 10'000 Wohnungen, vertieft untersucht werden. Mit diesen Partnern erarbeiten wir Massnahmen zur Verbesserung der Ressourceneffizienz. Die ökologischen Auswirkungen der Bestände werden anhand eines Modells simuliert.

Ziel
Unser Ziel ist, besser zu verstehen, welche Massnahmen den Fussabdruck von Gebäuden in welchem Ausmass reduzieren können. Wir werden die Projektergebnisse mit verschiedenen Typen von Gebäudeeigentümern und ihren Mieterinnen und Mietern diskutieren. Dabei wollen wir wirksame und konsensfähige Handlungsempfehlungen entwickeln, deren Auswirkungen auf Komfort, Kosten, Renditen und Ressourcenverbrauch modellieren und transparent offengelegen. Damit möchten wir mögliche Pfade für ein nachhaltigeres Wohnen aufzeigen.

Bedeutung
Seit 1990 ist die Schweizer Bevölkerung um 23 Prozent gestiegen, ihre Wohnfläche aber um 40 Prozent. Letztere ist einer der Haupttreiber des Ressourcenverbrauchs. Mit den Massnahmenempfehlungen des Projekts soll der materielle Fussabdruck von Mehrfamilienhäusern gesenkt werden, ohne den Energieverbrauch zu erhöhen. Zugleich soll Rücksicht auf die Akzeptanz und die Wirtschaftlichkeit genommen werden. Dies ist dank der engen Zusammenarbeit mit grossen Gebäudeeigentümern möglich, die solche Massnahmen mitentwickeln und umsetzen wollen. Das Projekt liefert damit einen Beitrag zum Ziel 11 für nachhaltige Entwicklung, nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden.