Lead
In an interdisciplinary team at the ETH Zurich, we are studying the technical, agricultural and socio-economic factors that facilitate the use of innovative information and communication technologies for a sustainable Swiss agriculture.

Lay summary

Background
New digital monitoring methods combined with automated data evaluation procedures enable a more precise application of agricultural production factors, such as pesticides or fertilisers. Thus, agriculture can become more environmentally friendly without a drop in productivity. However, only a holistic consideration of technical, agronomic and socio-economic factors can create the prerequisites for achieving added value in sustainable agricultural and food production.

Aims
The main aim of the project is to demonstrate how combining new information and communication technologies with farm-based cooperation models can contribute towards the sustainable development of Swiss agriculture. We want to identify new applications for drones in applying fertilisers and quantify their environmental impacts. In addition, we want to determine the costs and benefits of these technologies and thus provide a decision-making basis for management and policy makers.

Importance
Using quantitative analyses, the project’s findings will expand the knowledge base for farmers, advisers, technology developers and politicians. With this project, we are enabling the increased use of innovative solutions in the agricultural sector and opening up new opportunities for the further development of agricultural policy. ”InnoFarm” demonstrates solutions for more efficient, more innovative and more sustainable food production in Swiss agriculture.

Lead
In einem interdisziplinären Team der ETH Zürich untersuchen wir, welche technischen, agronomischen und sozioökonomischen Faktoren eine Nutzung innovativer Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien für eine nachhaltige Schweizer Landwirtschaft ermöglichen.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Neue digitale Monitoring-Techniken kombiniert mit automatisierten Datenauswertungsverfahren ermöglichen eine präzisere Anwendung von landwirtschaftlichen Produktionsfaktoren wie Pflanzenschutz- oder Düngemittel. Dadurch kann die Landwirtschaft umweltfreundlicher werden, ohne dass deren Produktivität abnimmt. Nur eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung von technischen, agronomischen und sozioökonomischen Faktoren schafft jedoch die Voraussetzung dafür, dass Mehrwerte für eine nachhaltige Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft realisiert werden.

Ziel
Das Ziel des Projektes ist es, aufzuzeigen, wie die Verbindung von neuen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien mit bäuerlichen Kooperationsmodellen zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung der Schweizer Landwirtschaft beitragen können. Wir wollen neue Anwendungen für Drohnen im Bereich des Düngereinsatzes aufzeigen und deren Umweltauswirkungen quantifizieren. Darüber hinaus möchten wir Kosten und Nutzen dieser Technologien bestimmen und so eine Entscheidungsgrundlage für Management- und Politikmassnahmen liefern.

 Bedeutung
Anhand von quantitativen Analysen erweitern die Erkenntnisse des Projektes die Wissensbasis für Landwirtinnen und Landwirte, Beratung, Technologieentwicklung und Politik. Mit dem Projekt ermöglichen wir so den verstärkten Einsatz innovativer Lösungen im Landwirtschaftssektor und eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten für die Weiterentwicklung der Agrarpolitik. "InnoFarm" zeigt damit Lösungen für eine effizientere, innovativere und nachhaltigere Nahrungsmittelproduktion in der Schweizer Landwirtschaft auf.