Lead
In an interdisciplinary team at the ETH Zurich, we are studying the technical, agricultural and socio-economic factors that facilitate the use of innovative information and communication technologies for a sustainable Swiss agriculture.

Lay summary

Background
New digital monitoring methods combined with automated data evaluation procedures enable a more precise application of agricultural production factors, such as pesticides or fertilisers. Thus, agriculture can become more environmentally friendly without a drop in productivity. However, only a holistic consideration of technical, agronomic and socio-economic factors can create the prerequisites for achieving added value in sustainable agricultural and food production.

Aims
The main aim of the project is to demonstrate how combining new information and communication technologies with farm-based cooperation models can contribute towards the sustainable development of Swiss agriculture. We want to identify new applications for drones in applying fertilisers and quantify their environmental impacts. In addition, we want to determine the costs and benefits of these technologies and thus provide a decision-making basis for management and policy makers.

Importance
Using quantitative analyses, the project’s findings will expand the knowledge base for farmers, advisers, technology developers and politicians. With this project, we are enabling the increased use of innovative solutions in the agricultural sector and opening up new opportunities for the further development of agricultural policy. ”InnoFarm” demonstrates solutions for more efficient, more innovative and more sustainable food production in Swiss agriculture.

Lead
Nous étudions, au sein d’une équipe interdisciplinaire de l’EPF Zurich, les facteurs techniques, agronomiques et socio-économiques qui permettent une utilisation des technologies innovantes de l’information et de la communication en faveur d’une agriculture suisse durable.

Lay summary

Contexte
Les nouvelles techniques de surveillance numériques combinées à des procédés automatisés d’analyse de données permettent une utilisation précise de facteurs de production agricoles, tels que les produits phytosanitaires ou les engrais. Grâce à elles, l’agriculture peut devenir plus écologique, sans que sa productivité n’en souffre. Cependant, seule une approche globale des facteurs techniques, agronomiques et socio-économiques peut réunir les conditions nécessaires à la création de valeur ajoutée pour le secteur agroalimentaire.

Objectifs
L’objectif du projet est de démontrer de quelle manière la conjonction des nouvelles technologies de communication et d’information et des modèles agricoles de coopération peut contribuer à un développement durable de l’agriculture suisse. Nous cherchons à identifier de nouvelles applications pour les drones dans l’utilisation des engrais et à quantifier leurs impacts environnementaux. Par ailleurs, nous aimerions déterminer les coûts et avantages de ces technologies et fournir ainsi une base de décision pour l'adoption de mesures politiques et de gestion.

Importance
À l’aide d’analyses quantitatives, les enseignements tirés de ce projet permettent d’élargir la base de connaissances utile à l’agriculture, au conseil, au développement technologique et au milieu politique. Avec ce projet, nous permettons le recours accru aux solutions innovantes dans le secteur agricole et créons de nouvelles pistes de développement pour la politique agricole. "InnoFarm" présente donc des solutions qui encouragent une production de denrées alimentaires plus durable, plus innovante et plus efficace dans l’agriculture suisse.