Lead
We are studying the internal mechanisms of farms by carrying out an ecological and economic analysis of individual enterprises of Swiss farms, i.e. the areas within the farms that specialise in different products. The insights thus gained will contribute towards the sustainability of Swiss agriculture.

Lay summary

Background
Most farms do not focus on a single product, but have several areas of activity (farm enterprises). For example, they may keep dairy cows and grow wheat and potatoes in their fields. Many decisions are made at the enterprise level, such as deciding on fertiliser intensity for arable crops, or the desired milk yield. From an ecological and economic point of view, it is important to gain a better understanding of precisely what exactly happens at the enterprise level.

Aims
In this project we want to find out whether there is a positive, negative or no correlation between profitability and environmental impacts at the enterprise level. We are also examining which characteristics of farms influence economic and ecological performance. Finally, we want to determine the potential for saving natural resources while simultaneously increasing the efficiency of operations.

Importance
The analysis of profitability and environmental impacts at the enterprise level is an entirely new activity, and it will contribute towards a sustainable Swiss agriculture. The insights thus gained will be discussed with practitioners in cooperation with the Swiss Farmers’ Union and Arenenberg, the agricultural educational and consulting centre of the canton of Thurgau (BBZ Arenenberg). The results will be published in agricultural journals and scientific articles.

Lead
Wir untersuchen die inneren Abläufe von Landwirtschaftsbetrieben, indem wir einzelne Betriebszweige, d.h. Bereiche innerhalb eines Betriebes, aus ökologischer und ökonomischer Sicht analysieren. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse leisten einen Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit der Schweizer Landwirtschaft.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Die meisten Landwirtschaftsbetriebe fokussieren sich nicht auf ein einziges Produkt, sondern haben mehrere Betriebszweige. Beispielsweise halten sie Milchkühe und bauen auf ihren Feldern Weizen und Kartoffeln an. Viele Entscheidungen werden auf Stufe Betriebszweig gefällt, wie etwa die Düngungsintensität im Ackerbau oder die angestrebte Milchleistung. Aus ökologischer und ökonomischer Sicht ist es wichtig, besser zu verstehen, was auf Ebene der Betriebszweige genau vor sich geht.

Ziel
Wir untersuchen im Projekt, ob es auf Stufe der Betriebszweige einen positiven, negativen oder gar keinen Zusammenhang zwischen der Rentabilität und den Umweltwirkungen gibt. Weiter analysieren wir, welche Eigenschaften eines Betriebs die ökonomische und ökologische Performance beeinflussen. Schliesslich ermitteln wir das Einsparungspotenzial an natürlichen Ressourcen bei gleichzeitiger Effizienzsteigerung der Betriebe.

Bedeutung
Die Analyse von Rentabilität und Umweltwirkungen auf Ebene von Betriebszweigen ist ein absolutes Novum und leistet einen Beitrag hin zu einer nachhaltigeren Schweizer Landwirtschaft. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden mit Praktikern in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizerischen Bauernverband und dem Arenenberg, dem landwirtschaftlichen Bildungs- und Beratungszentrum des Kantons Thurgau, besprochen. Die Ergebnisse werden anschliessend in landwirtschaftlichen Zeitschriften und wissenschaftlichen Artikeln veröffentlicht.