Lead
We are studying the internal mechanisms of farms by carrying out an ecological and economic analysis of individual enterprises of Swiss farms, i.e. the areas within the farms that specialise in different products. The insights thus gained will contribute towards the sustainability of Swiss agriculture.

Lay summary

Background
Most farms do not focus on a single product, but have several areas of activity (farm enterprises). For example, they may keep dairy cows and grow wheat and potatoes in their fields. Many decisions are made at the enterprise level, such as deciding on fertiliser intensity for arable crops, or the desired milk yield. From an ecological and economic point of view, it is important to gain a better understanding of precisely what exactly happens at the enterprise level.

Aims
In this project we want to find out whether there is a positive, negative or no correlation between profitability and environmental impacts at the enterprise level. We are also examining which characteristics of farms influence economic and ecological performance. Finally, we want to determine the potential for saving natural resources while simultaneously increasing the efficiency of operations.

Importance
The analysis of profitability and environmental impacts at the enterprise level is an entirely new activity, and it will contribute towards a sustainable Swiss agriculture. The insights thus gained will be discussed with practitioners in cooperation with the Swiss Farmers’ Union and Arenenberg, the agricultural educational and consulting centre of the canton of Thurgau (BBZ Arenenberg). The results will be published in agricultural journals and scientific articles.

Lead
Nous étudions les processus internes des entreprises agricoles en conduisant une analyse écologique et économique des différentes branches de l’entreprise, c’est-à-dire des domaines de l’entreprise qui se sont spécialisés dans des produits divers. Les enseignements tirés de cette étude contribueront à la durabilité de l’agriculture suisse.

Lay summary

Contexte
La plupart des entreprises agricoles ne se contentent pas d’un seul produit, mais disposent de plusieurs branches d’exploitation. Elles détiennent par exemple des vaches laitières et cultivent du blé et des pommes de terre sur leurs champs. De nombreuses décisions sont prises au niveau de la branche d’exploitation, telles que la quantité d’engrais à épandre dans les champs ou le rendement laitier recherché. D’un point de vue écologique et économique il est important de mieux comprendre ce qui se passe au niveau de la branche d’exploitation.

Objectifs
Dans le projet, nous examinons s’il existe ou non un rapport positif ou négatif entre la rentabilité et l’impact environnemental au niveau de la branche d’exploitation. De plus, nous analysons quelles caractéristiques d’une exploitation ont une influence sur la performance économique et écologique. Enfin, nous déterminons le potentiel d’économies en ressources naturelles si une amélioration simultanée du rendement de l’exploitation doit être atteinte.

Importance
L’analyse de la rentabilité et des impacts environnementaux au niveau des branches d’exploitation constitue une nouveauté et contribue à une agriculture suisse plus durable. Les enseignements tirés de l’étude seront discutés avec les professionnels du secteur en collaboration avec l’Union suisse des paysans et le centre de formation agricole et de conseil Arenenberg du canton de Thurgovie. Les résultats seront ensuite publiés dans la presse agricole et dans des articles scientifiques.