Lead
We are studying the impacts of forest management on a variety of forest services. Using two models and a range of indicators we are simulating forest development and services with a variety of management and climate scenarios.

Lay summary

Background
The wood industry in Switzerland has great economic potential. The forest provides many more services than protection from avalanches and debris flows, recreation and biodiversity. Some services are provided simultaneously, others compete with each other. Megatrends such as climate change and energy transitions present new challenges to safeguarding the sustainability of these services. Today’s decision for one or the other service can have consequences for the next 50 to 100 years.

Aims
We aim to investigate the reactions of growth, mortality and regeneration to changing climate conditions and build the identified processes into the models. We will thus determine how synergies and conflicts in current forest services will change in future. In this connection it is important that, even if the forest’s multiple services are not safeguarded, they can nonetheless be fulfilled at the landscape level. This effect can be analysed using extrapolation of existing models to larger scales.

Importance
Together with forestry practitioners, sustainable forest management strategies are being defined for a variety of forest types. Using forest development models it will be possible to assess ecological and economic effects of the different forest management systems over long periods of time and for different scales. Insights from the study will be implemented in a prototype of an IT-based decision-making support system.

Lead
Wir untersuchen die Auswirkung der Waldbewirtschaftung auf verschiedene Leistungen des Waldes. Mit zwei Modellen und diversen Indikatoren simulieren wir die Entwicklung des Waldes und dessen Leistungen unter verschiedenen Bewirtschaftungs- und Klimaszenarien.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Die Holzwirtschaft in der Schweiz hat ein hohes ökonomisches Potenzial. Der Wald erfüllt jedoch weit mehr Leistungen wie Schutz vor Lawinen und Murgängen, Erholung oder Biodiversität. Einige Leistungen werden simultan erbracht, andere konkurrieren sich. Megatrends wie Klimawandel und Energiewende stellen die langfristige Gewährleistung dieser Dienstleistungen vor neue Herausforderungen. Entscheide von heute für die eine oder andere Leistung haben oft Auswirkungen für die nächsten 50 bis 100 Jahre.

Ziel
Wir untersuchen die Reaktion von Wachstum, Mortalität und Regeneration von Wäldern auf sich ändernde klimatische Bedingungen und bauen die dabei identifizierten Prozesse in die Modelle ein. Damit untersuchen wir, wie sich Synergien und Konflikte heutiger Waldleistungen in Zukunft verändern werden. Wichtig dabei ist, dass, auch wenn Mehrfachleistungen des Waldes auf der Bestandesebene nicht gewährleistet sind, diese auf der Landschaftsebene dennoch erfüllt sein können. Durch das Hochrechnen von Bestandesmodellen auf grössere Skalen kann dieser Effekt analysiert werden.

Bedeutung
Zusammen mit Praxispartnern aus dem Forstbereich werden nachhaltige Waldbewirtschaftungsstrategien für verschiedene Waldtypen definiert. Mittels Waldentwicklungsmodellen können ökologische und ökonomische Effekte dieser unterschiedlichen Waldbewirtschaftungen über lange Zeiträume und für verschiedene Skalen abgeschätzt werden. Die Erkenntnisse dieser Studie werden in einem Prototyp für ein IT-basiertes Entscheidungsunterstützungssystem umgesetzt.