Lead
We are studying the impacts of forest management on a variety of forest services. Using two models and a range of indicators we are simulating forest development and services with a variety of management and climate scenarios.

Lay summary

Background
The wood industry in Switzerland has great economic potential. The forest provides many more services than protection from avalanches and debris flows, recreation and biodiversity. Some services are provided simultaneously, others compete with each other. Megatrends such as climate change and energy transitions present new challenges to safeguarding the sustainability of these services. Today’s decision for one or the other service can have consequences for the next 50 to 100 years.

Aims
We aim to investigate the reactions of growth, mortality and regeneration to changing climate conditions and build the identified processes into the models. We will thus determine how synergies and conflicts in current forest services will change in future. In this connection it is important that, even if the forest’s multiple services are not safeguarded, they can nonetheless be fulfilled at the landscape level. This effect can be analysed using extrapolation of existing models to larger scales.

Importance
Together with forestry practitioners, sustainable forest management strategies are being defined for a variety of forest types. Using forest development models it will be possible to assess ecological and economic effects of the different forest management systems over long periods of time and for different scales. Insights from the study will be implemented in a prototype of an IT-based decision-making support system.

Lead
Nous étudions l’impact de la gestion forestière sur les prestations écosystémiques des forêts. À l’aide de deux modèles et de divers indicateurs, nous simulons le développement forestier et ses prestations selon différents scénarios de gestion et de conditions climatiques.

Lay summary

Contexte
En Suisse, l’industrie du bois a un fort potentiel économique. Ceci étant, la forêt fournit bien d'autres prestations encore: protection contre les avalanches et les coulées de boue, détente et loisirs ou maintien de la biodiversité par exemple. Certaines prestations sont fournies simultanément, tandis que d’autres se font concurrence. Les tendances de fond telles que le changement climatique et la transition énergétique posent de nouveaux défis pour la fourniture durable de ces prestations. Les décisions prises aujourd’hui en faveur de l’une ou de l’autre prestation ont souvent des répercussions sur les 50 à 100 prochaines années.

Objectifs
Nous étudions la réaction de la croissance, de la mortalité et de la régénération à l'évolution des conditions climatiques et intégrons les processus identifiés dans les modèles. Ainsi, nous analysons la manière dont les synergies et les conflits des prestations forestières d’aujourd’hui évolueront demain. Il est important de noter que même si de multiples prestations forestières ne sont pas garanties au niveau du peuplement, elles peuvent néanmoins être réalisés au niveau du paysage. Cet effet peut être analysé en extrapolant les modèles à l’échelle des peuplements à des échelles plus importantes.

Importance
En collaboration avec les professionnels du secteur forestier, nous définissons des stratégies de gestion forestière durable pour différents types de forêts. L’utilisation de modèles de développement forestier permet d’estimer les effets écologiques et économiques de ces différents systèmes de gestion forestière sur de longues périodes et à différentes échelles. Les résultats de cette étude seront concrétisés dans un prototype d’un système informatique d’aide à la décision.