Lead
The aim of this project is to realise a series of short animated documentaries on the holographic principle in theoretical physics. The holographic principle is a recent proposal which posits that any D-dimensional universe whose physical laws include a gravitational interaction can be equivalently described in terms of a physical system in D-1 dimensions without gravity. This latter system lives "on the boundary" of the larger universe, a bit like a hologram. In a three-part documentary we will explain how theoretical physicists came to formulate such a radical proposal, and its implications for foundations of Physics. The videos will be then distributed to Swiss high-schools and online worldwide.

Lay summary
The holographic principle which has been proposed in the 1990s is one of the most important ideas emerged in recent years in theoretical physics. It conjectures a duality between theories of gravity in D-dimensions and theories without gravity in one dimension fewer. This proposal has sparked a collective effort by theoretical physicists which resulted in tremendous advances in our understanding of gravity, black holes, quantum theories, and their mutual relations.

Despite its importance in research, the holographic principle is all but unknown by the general public. This is a pity, not only because such an amazing and thought-provoking idea is well worth communicating, but especially because this contributes to a distorted perception of the topics and methods of theoretical physics. It is sometimes believed that physics only advances through the intuitions of a few lone geniuses, while progress is really achieved through many small steps and some occasional leaps forward. Due to this unfortunate prejudice, many young students shun from theoretical physics, as they believe that they are not unique or competitive enough to succeed.

Exploring the winding path that led to the formulation of the holographic principle will help dispel this prejudice, and showcase an exciting topic of current research. We will realise a series of three animated videos in partnership with the YouTube channel Kurzgesagt. The video will be in English, French, German and Italian; they will be aimed at high-school students and distributed to Swiss high schools and online worldwide. Furthermore, we plan to organise special screenings of the videos at Swiss universities and to invite students and teachers to interact with researchers.

Lead
Das Ziel dieses Projektes ist es eine Dokumentation über das holographische Prinzip in der Theoretischen Physik im Stile eines YouTube Videos zu realisieren. Das Holographische Prinzip ist ein vor kurzem vorgeschlagenes Postulat, dass jedes D-dimensional Universum, welches Gravitationswechselwirkungen in seinen physikalischen Gesetzen enthält, äquivalent ist zu einem gravitationsfreien physikalischen System in D-1 Dimensionen auf dem Rand eines solchen Universums. In dieser dreiteiligen Dokumentation werden wir erklären was Theoretische Physiker zu solch einer tiefgreifenden Vermutung führte und was die Folgen für unser Verständnis der Fundamentalphysik sind. Die Filme sollen nach Fertigstellung sowohl in Schweizer Gymnasien als auch weltweit übers Internet verteilt werden.

Lay summary

Das Holographische Prinzip, welches in den 90er Jahren vorgeschlagen wurde, ist eine der bedeutungsvollsten Ideen, die in den vergangenen Jahren in der Theoretischen Physik entwickelt wurde. Es postuliert eine Dualität zwischen Gravitationstheorien in D Dimensionen und gravitationsfreien Theorien in einer Dimension weniger. Diese Vermutung entzündete eine gemeinschaftliche Arbeit vieler theoretische Physiker, die zu grossen Fortschritten in unserem Verständnis der Gravitation, Schwarzer Löcher, Quantentheorien sowie deren Beziehungen zueinander führte.

Trotz seiner Beduetung in der Forschung ist das Holographische Prinzip der breiten Öffentlichkeit völlig unbekannt. Dies ist ein bedauernswerter Umtand, nicht nur da diese erstaunliche, zum Nachdenken anregende Idee es wert ist mittgeteilt zu werden, sondern auch weil eine verzerrte Wahrnehmung der Themen und Methoden der Theoretischen Physik besteht. Mitunter wird angenommen, dass Fortschritte in der Theoretischen Physik nur durch die Intuition einiger weniger Genies gemacht würden, und dass revolutionäre Ideen vom Himmel fielen. Dieses bedauerliche Vorurteil hält junge StudentInnen von der Theoretischen Physik ab, da sie sich für wissenschaftlichen Erfolg nicht ausreichend konkurrenzfähig halten.

Den gewunden Pfad nachzuvollziehen, der zu der Fromulierung des Holographischen Prinzips führte, wird dazu beitragen dieses Vorurteil abzubauen und gleichzeitig einen Einblick in ein spannendes und hochaktuelles Forschungsthema zu gewähren. Wir werden eine animierte Videoserie in Zusammenarbeit mit dem YouTube Kanal Kurzgesagt erstellen. Die Videos werden in Englisch, Französisch, Deutsch und Italienisch zu sehen sein und sind primär an Gymnasialschüler gerichtet. Sie werden an schweizer Schulen verteilt und im Internet veröffentlicht werden. Zusätzlich dazu beabsichtigen wir Aufführungen an schweizer Universitäten, zu denen wir SchülerInnen und Lehrer einladen möchten um direkt mit Wissenschaftlern in Kontakt zu treten.