Lead
The aim of this project is to realise a series of short animated documentaries on the holographic principle in theoretical physics. The holographic principle is a recent proposal which posits that any D-dimensional universe whose physical laws include a gravitational interaction can be equivalently described in terms of a physical system in D-1 dimensions without gravity. This latter system lives "on the boundary" of the larger universe, a bit like a hologram. In a three-part documentary we will explain how theoretical physicists came to formulate such a radical proposal, and its implications for foundations of Physics. The videos will be then distributed to Swiss high-schools and online worldwide.

Lay summary
The holographic principle which has been proposed in the 1990s is one of the most important ideas emerged in recent years in theoretical physics. It conjectures a duality between theories of gravity in D-dimensions and theories without gravity in one dimension fewer. This proposal has sparked a collective effort by theoretical physicists which resulted in tremendous advances in our understanding of gravity, black holes, quantum theories, and their mutual relations.

Despite its importance in research, the holographic principle is all but unknown by the general public. This is a pity, not only because such an amazing and thought-provoking idea is well worth communicating, but especially because this contributes to a distorted perception of the topics and methods of theoretical physics. It is sometimes believed that physics only advances through the intuitions of a few lone geniuses, while progress is really achieved through many small steps and some occasional leaps forward. Due to this unfortunate prejudice, many young students shun from theoretical physics, as they believe that they are not unique or competitive enough to succeed.

Exploring the winding path that led to the formulation of the holographic principle will help dispel this prejudice, and showcase an exciting topic of current research. We will realise a series of three animated videos in partnership with the YouTube channel Kurzgesagt. The video will be in English, French, German and Italian; they will be aimed at high-school students and distributed to Swiss high schools and online worldwide. Furthermore, we plan to organise special screenings of the videos at Swiss universities and to invite students and teachers to interact with researchers.

Lead
Le but de ce projet est de réaliser une série de courts documentaires animés sur le principe holographique en physique théorique. Le principe holographique est une proposition récente qui postule qu’un univers D-dimensionnel dont les lois physiques incluent une interaction gravitationnelle peut être décrit de manière équivalente en termes d'un système quantique sans gravité en dimensions D-1. Ce dernier espace vit à la frontière de cet univers, un peu comme un hologramme. Dans les vidéos, nous expliquerons comment les physiciens théoriciens sont parvenus à formuler une telle proposition révolutionnaire, et explorerons ses implications au niveau des interactions fondamentales. Les vidéos seront ensuite distribuées aux lycées suisses et disponibles en ligne dans le monde entier.

Lay summary
Le principe holographique, proposé dans les années 90, est l’une des idées les plus importantes qui ont émergé récemment en physique théorique. Il suppose une correspondance entre les théories gravitationnelles en D dimensions et les théories qui ne comprennent pas l'interaction gravitationnelle dans une dimension en moins. Cette proposition a provoqué une intense activité dans la recherche en physique théorique, qui nous a permis de mieux comprendre la nature fondamentale de la gravité, des trous noirs, des théories quantiques, et comment ces concepts sont liés.

Malgré son importance, le principe holographique reste pratiquement inconnu du grand public. C'est dommage, et pas seulement parce que c'est une idée très élégante et passionnante; cette situation contribue à fausser la perception des sujets et des méthodes de recherche en physique théorique. On pense souvent que la recherche avance grâce aux découvertes et idées de quelque génie isolé, alors qu'il s'agit en fait d'un travail collectif composé de nombreuses petites étapes, et occasionnellement d'un bond en avant. À cause de ce préjugé malheureux, de nombreux jeunes étudiants et jeunes étudiantes évitent la physique théorique, pensant à tort qu'ils ne sont pas suffisamment géniaux ou compétitifs pour réussir.

L'histoire de l'évolution tortueuse des idées qui ont conduit à la formulation du principe holographique réfute ce préjugé, et c’est également pour cette raison qu’elle devrait être racontée. Nous réaliserons une série de vidéos animées en partenariat avec la chaîne YouTube Kurzgesagt. Les vidéos seront racontées en Français, Allemand, Anglais et Italien, et destinées aux lycéens et lycéennes. Elles seront distribuées dans les écoles suisses et en ligne. De plus, nous allons inviter les élèves et les enseignants à des projections dans les universités, en contact direct avec les chercheurs.