Lead
Many phenomena in our environment are extremely complex and cannot simply be captured via sensors. Additional field observations are often indispensable. This project uses two case studies to examine how sensor data and field observations can be combined and evaluated.

Lay summary

Understanding complex phenomena in our environment requires more than capturing and analysing large quantities of data via sensors. Additional field observations are often indispensable. By means of two case studies, we will combine and conduct an integrated evaluation of, first, sensor data that is limited in terms of accuracy, and, second, field observations that are precise but often only selectively available. In the first case we will develop a dual recording system of this type in order to carry out a comprehensive analysis of soil erosion events in the Alps. In the second case we will integrate pre-existing sensor and field observation data to gain a better understanding of the mass movement of migratory birds.

The aim of the project is to develop processes for collecting, combining and evaluating comprehensive sensor data and selective field observations. Two case studies will (a) achieve a better understanding of erosion processes and (b) improve the forecasting of spatial and temporal migration patterns of bird species. 

Developing new methods of recording, integrating and analysing heterogeneous data streams and selective field observations will lead to new knowledge in the environmental sciences. The first case study will improve our understanding of alpine ecosystems, which are of great relevance to biodiversity and the water balance. The second case study will enable us to use better knowledge of annual bird migrations to answer questions about the responsible use of wind energy and how migratory birds spread diseases.

Lead
Viele Phänomene unserer Umwelt sind hochgradig komplex und können nicht einfach über Sensoren erfasst werden. Zusätzliche Feldbeobachtungen sind oft unverzichtbar. Das Projekt untersucht anhand von zwei Fallbeispielen, wie Sensordaten und Feldbeobachtungen kombiniert und ausgewertet werden können.

Lay summary

Für das Verständnis komplexer Phänomene in unserer Umwelt reicht es meist nicht aus, grosse Datenmengen über Sensoren zu erfassen und zu analysieren. Häufig sind zusätzliche Feldbeobachtungen unverzichtbar. Anhand von zwei Fallstudien werden wir Sensordaten, die bezüglich ihrer Genauigkeit limitiert sind, und präzise Feldbeobachtungen, die aber oftmals nur punktuell vorliegen, kombinieren und integriert auswerten. Im ersten Fall entwickeln wir ein solches duales Erfassungssystem, um eine flächendeckende Analyse von Boden-Erosionsereignissen in den Alpen zu realisieren. Im zweiten Fall integrieren wir bereits vorhandene Sensor- und Feldbeobachtungsdaten, um die Massenwanderung von Zugvögeln besser zu verstehen.

Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung von Verfahren zur Erfassung, Kombination und Auswertung von flächendeckenden Sensordaten und punktuellen Feldbeobachtungen. Die beiden Fallstudien sollen (a) ein besseres Verständnis von Erosionsprozessen erzielen und (b) die Vorhersage der räumlichen und zeitlichen Zugmuster von Vogelarten verbessern.

Die Entwicklung neuer Methoden zur Erfassung, Integration und Analyse von heterogenen Datenströmen und punktuellen Feldbeobachtungen führt zu neuen Erkenntnissen in den Umweltwissenschaften. Die beiden Fallstudien verbessern einerseits das Verständnis der alpinen Ökosysteme, die eine hohe Relevanz für die Biodiversität und den Wasserhaushalt besitzen. Andererseits lassen sich mit einer verbesserten Kenntnis des jährlichen Vogelzugs auch Fragen zur schonenden Nutzung der Windenergie oder der Verbreitung von Krankheiten durch Zugvögel beantworten.