Lead
Many phenomena in our environment are extremely complex and cannot simply be captured via sensors. Additional field observations are often indispensable. This project uses two case studies to examine how sensor data and field observations can be combined and evaluated.

Lay summary

Understanding complex phenomena in our environment requires more than capturing and analysing large quantities of data via sensors. Additional field observations are often indispensable. By means of two case studies, we will combine and conduct an integrated evaluation of, first, sensor data that is limited in terms of accuracy, and, second, field observations that are precise but often only selectively available. In the first case we will develop a dual recording system of this type in order to carry out a comprehensive analysis of soil erosion events in the Alps. In the second case we will integrate pre-existing sensor and field observation data to gain a better understanding of the mass movement of migratory birds.

The aim of the project is to develop processes for collecting, combining and evaluating comprehensive sensor data and selective field observations. Two case studies will (a) achieve a better understanding of erosion processes and (b) improve the forecasting of spatial and temporal migration patterns of bird species. 

Developing new methods of recording, integrating and analysing heterogeneous data streams and selective field observations will lead to new knowledge in the environmental sciences. The first case study will improve our understanding of alpine ecosystems, which are of great relevance to biodiversity and the water balance. The second case study will enable us to use better knowledge of annual bird migrations to answer questions about the responsible use of wind energy and how migratory birds spread diseases.

Lead
La complexité de nombreux phénomènes environnementaux empêche à de simples capteurs de les saisir pleinement. Des observations complémentaires sur le terrain s’avèrent souvent indispensables. Le projet étudie, sur la base de deux exemples, comment combiner et évaluer les données issues de capteurs et les observations de terrain.

Lay summary

Pour comprendre les phénomènes environnementaux complexes, il ne suffit en général pas de traiter et d’analyser de gros volumes de données de capteurs. Il est souvent indispensable d’avoir recours à des observations sur le terrain. Sur la base de deux études de cas, nous allons combiner et analyser de manière intégrée des données de capteurs dont l’exactitude est limitée avec des observations de terrain précises mais souvent fragmentaires. Dans la première étude, nous développons un tel système de traitement dual afin d’effectuer une analyse à grande échelle de phénomènes d’érosion du sol dans les Alpes. Dans la deuxième étude, nous intégrons des données de capteurs et d’observations sur le terrain déjà existantes afin de mieux comprendre les migrations de masse des oiseaux.

L’objectif du projet est le développement de processus à même de traiter, combiner et analyser autant des données de capteurs sur une grande échelle que des observations de terrain ponctuelles. Les deux études de cas doivent (a) permettre une meilleure compréhension des processus d’érosion et (b) améliorer les prévisions du modèle de migration spatial et temporel de diverses espèces d’oiseaux.

Le développement de nouvelles méthodes de traitement, d’intégration et d’analyse des flux de données hétérogènes et d’observations sur le terrain permettent d’acquérir de nouvelles connaissances en sciences de l’environnement. Ces deux études de cas améliorent, d’une part, la compréhension des écosystèmes alpins qui revêtent une grande importance pour la biodiversité et le régime des eaux. Elles permettent, d’autre part, une meilleure connaissance des migrations annuelles des oiseaux afin de répondre à des questions sur l’utilisation durable de l’énergie éolienne ou la propagation de maladies par les oiseaux migrateurs.