Lead
The goal of this project is to enable people to analyse, process and “see” data on interactions between people, systems and the environment. Records of phone calls or social media posts are just two examples of such data. This type of analysis could deliver new business insights and improve decision making. The constant stream of data generated by people, software systems and the physical world has three distinguishing characteristics: it is very large, it is very varied and it accumulates very fast.

Lay summary

Information is also more accessible than ever before. For example, in many applications (e.g. phone calls and social media), data that record interactions between people, systems and the environment are available for analysis. The goal of this project is to conceive, develop and validate novel techniques and approaches for exploiting these data. The project tackles three main challenges: how to store and manage the data; how to ask questions about the data that provide useful answers; and how to “see” changes in the data over time.Past research efforts have focused on data related to static relationships between entities (people, places and things). But data change over time, and we need to understand the trends. In addition, the amount of data recorded is constantly growing, which makes efficiently storing and processing it a significant challenge.

Past research efforts have focused on data related to static relationships between entities (people, places and things). But data change over time, and we need to understand the trends. In addition, the amount of data recorded is constantly growing, which makes efficiently storing and processing it a significant challenge.

Our project tackles three main challenges related to processing and visualising data about interactions. First, we will develop the computer system infrastructure needed to store and manage the data. Second, we will create a specialised computer language that allows users to ask questions about the data. Finally, we will design a method of visualising data that allows users to see how the data change over time.

Given the wide variety of applications for data that record interactions, and the need to understand and gain insights from those data, we expect the successful completion of this project to have a broad impact on both research and industry.

Lead
Durch dieses Projekt sollen Menschen in die Lage versetzt werden, Daten zu analysieren, zu verarbeiten und zu "sehen", die aus Interaktionen zwischen Personen, Systemen und der Umwelt stammen. Solche Daten sind zum Beispiel Aufzeichnungen von Telefongesprächen oder Posts in den sozialen Medien.

Lay summary

Der von Menschen, Softwaresystemen und der physischen Welt generierte Datenstrom zeichnet sich vor allem durch drei Merkmale aus: ein enormes Volumen, grosse Vielfalt und rasantes Wachstum. Daten, die sich auf Interaktionen zwischen Menschen, Systemen und der Umwelt beziehen, können heute in vielen Anwendungen (etwa Telefon und soziale Medien) ausgewertet werden. Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, neue Techniken und Ansätze zur Nutzung dieser Daten zu entwerfen, zu entwickeln und zu validieren. Das Projekt richtet sich dabei auf drei Kernfragen: Wie können die Daten gespeichert und verwaltet werden? Welche Art der Datenabfrage liefert nutzbringende Antworten? Wie lassen sich Veränderungen der Daten visualisieren?

Die Forschung hat sich bisher auf Daten konzentriert, die sich auf statische Beziehungen zwischen Menschen, Orte und Dingen beziehen. Da sich Daten im Laufe der Zeit aber verändern, ist es wichtig, auch Trends zu erkennen. Durch die stetige Zunahme der Datenvolumen wird es zudem immer schwieriger, die aufgezeichneten Daten effizient zu speichern und zu verarbeiten.

Unser Projekt stellt sich drei grossen Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit der Verarbeitung und Visualisierung von interaktionsbezogenen Daten. Erstens wollen wir die zum Speichern und Verwalten der Daten benötigte IT-System-Infrastruktur entwickeln. Zweitens wollen wir eine spezielle Computersprache entwickeln, die es den Anwendern ermöglicht, Daten abzufragen. Im letzten Schritt werden wir ein Verfahren zur Visualisierung dieser Daten entwickeln, so dass die Anwender erkennen können, wie sich die Daten im Lauf der Zeit verändern.

Angesichts der äusserst vielfältigen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten von interaktionsbezogenen Daten und der Notwendigkeit, diese Daten zu verstehen und Erkenntnisse aus ihnen zu gewinnen, gehen wir davon aus, dass dieses Projekt nach seinem erfolgreichen Abschluss grosse Bedeutung sowohl für die Forschung als auch für die Industrie haben wird.