Lead
Antibiotic-resistant germs are repeatedly found on lettuce. We identify the sources from which they are transferred to the plants during cultivation.

Lay summary

Antibiotic-resistant bacteria occur in the environment, in soil, bodies of surface water and organic fertilisers used in agriculture. They are presumed to pass from these sources to humans via plant-based food. However, little is known about how these bacteria are transferred from the environment to commercially grown plants. We are studying this aspect in lettuce cultivation and determining the sources from which resistant bacteria are transferred to the plants. We are investigating soil, irrigation water and fertilisers used during growth up to the point the plants are harvested. We are analysing which bacteria are transferred from which sources and in what quantities, as well as which forms of resistance persist until harvesting. Our study looks at both field and greenhouse cultivation.

Background
While an important source of food, plant products consumed in their raw state may also be carriers of antibiotic-resistant bacteria. Unlike cooked products, germs on products that eaten raw are not killed during preparation. This is why preventive measures to stop pathogens contaminating plants in the first place are important. Until now, however, the knowledge needed to act has not been available.

Aim
We want to obtain precise information as to which germs are transferred from which sources to lettuce plants in fields and greenhouses. We are analysing disease-causing pathogens that can affect humans and environmental bacteria that are in themselves harmless to people. These, too, play a role in the development of resistant pathogens since bacteria can exchange genetic material between themselves.

Relevance
Our results can be used to develop regulatory guidelines and practical measures for agriculture with the aim of preventing the spread of resistance by plant-based foods. They also provide information that could be useful in setting up monitoring programmes.

Lead
Des germes résistants aux antibiotiques sont régulièrement observés sur la salade. Nous présentons comment ceux-ci parviennent sur les plants durant leur culture et de quelles sources ils proviennent.

Lay summary

Les bactéries résistantes sont aussi présentes dans les sols, les eaux de surface et les engrais organiques agricoles. On suppose qu’elles se transmettent à l’homme lors de la consommation de fruits et de légumes mais on ignore presque tout de la manière dont le transfert entre l’environnement et les plantes cultivées s’opère. Nous étudions le phénomène à partir de l’exemple de la salade afin de déterminer quelles sources entraînent la contamination de cette culture. Nous prenons en compte les sols, les eaux d’irrigation et les engrais utilisés de la plantation à la récolte. Nous analysons les catégories de bactéries transmises, leur provenance et leur quantité et observons quelles résistances perdurent jusqu’à la récolte, que la culture soit effectuée en plein champ ou sous serre.

Contexte
Les végétaux consommés crus sont un apport essentiel à notre alimentation, mais peuvent être porteurs de bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques. Contrairement aux aliments cuits, les produits consommés crus véhiculent des germes qui ne sont pas détruits lors de la préparation. Il est donc important d’adopter certaines mesures afin d’éviter la contamination des végétaux en amont. Toutefois, les connaissances disponibles jusqu’ici dans ce domaine n’autorisaient pas une prévention ciblée.

Objectif
Nous souhaitons acquérir des connaissances précises sur les germes qui contaminent les plants de salade cultivés en plein champ ou sous serre et les sources dont ils proviennent. Nous analysons les agents pathogènes qui peuvent induire des maladies au même titre que les bactéries inoffensives présentes dans l’environnement. Ces dernières peuvent en effet jouer un rôle dans le développement des résistances dans la mesure où elles sont également susceptibles d’échanger du matériel génétique.

Importance
Nos résultats serviront à élaborer des mesures pour la pratique agricole et des directives administratives, afin d’empêcher que des résistances se propagent par l’intermédiaire de produits alimentaires végétaux. Notre étude fournira également des indications utiles pour l’élaboration de programmes de surveillance.