Lead
Small and medium-sized towns (SMTs) have received little attention from both scholars and practitioners in urban and regional development. This research project aims to analyze the economic and political role of SMTs in Switzerland.

Lay summary

Scholars and practitioners have mostly neglected the role of SMTs in the context of spatial development. Yet, recent research demonstrates that for the EU15-nations, small and medium-sized towns have shown higher economic growth rates than the largest cities particularly since 2001 (Dijkstra, Garcilazo, & McCann, 2013). As a result, SMTs may become more important in the future. Consequently, it is necessary to gain more knowledge and information about the characteristics and economic contributions of this type of city. Thus, the main goal of this project is to shed light on socioeconomic aspects, specific roles and functions of SMTs in Switzerland as well as on the success of strategies Swiss SMTs employ to strengthen their position. The project examines the development potential of small and medium-sized towns (SMTs) in Switzerland from an economic geography and political science perspective.

The project integrates economic geography and political science perspectives of SMTs in order to contribute to the emerging scientific and political debates on the role and function of small and medium-sized towns. By outlining the development potential of SMTs in Switzerland and evaluating their locational strategies, current policies can be adapted.

Lead
Klein- und mittelgrosse Städte (SMTs) stehen oft im Schatten der Metropolitanräume und finden sowohl in der Wissenschaft wie auch in der Politik wenig Beachtung. Mit diesem Projekt werden die wirtschaftliche und auch politische Bedeutung der SMTs in der Schweiz aufgezeigt.

Lay summary

Klein- und mittelgrosse Städte (SMTs) haben bisher keine bedeutende Rolle in der Wissenschaft und Politik gespielt. Wie sich jedoch aus Ergebnissen einer aktuellen Studie erkennen lässt, weisen SMTs in den EU-15 Staaten ein grösseres wirtschaftliches Wachstum seit 2001 auf als Grossstädte (Dijkstra, Garcilazo, & McCann, 2013). Aus diesen Zahlen lässt sich schliessen, dass SMTs in Zukunft an Bedeutung gewinnen können. Folglich ist es nötig, die Eigenheiten und den wirtschaftlichen Beitrag dieses Städtetyps besser zu verstehen. Das primäre Ziel diese Projektes ist es daher sozioökonomische Aspekte, die spezifischen Rollen und Funktionen von SMTS zu ergründen sowie die politische Strategien, die SMTs wählen, um ihre Position zu stärken, auf ihre Wirksamkeit hin zu untersuchen. Das Entwicklungspotenzial von SMTs in der Schweiz wird aus einer wirtschaftsgeographischen und politikwissenschaftlichen Perspektive untersucht. 

Das Projekt integriert wirtschaftsgeographische sowie politikwissenschaftliche Aspekte der SMTs und leistet damit einen Beitrag zu den aufkommenden wissenschaftlichen und politischen Debatten über die Funktion und Rolle von SMTs. Durch die Analyse der Entwicklungspotenziale der Schweizer SMTs und der Wirkung ihrer Positionierungsstrategien können Förderpolitiken angepasst werden.