Lead
Building integration of photovoltaic (BIPV) has been anticipated as a “market boom” for many years, but, in practice, none of the predictions has hit the market, mainly because of the cost adds-on as compared to conventional PV. But further barriers have to be overcome in order to achieve a larger BIPV deployment. These include some technological oriented aspects, such as the reliability with time and hence definition of new standards of such products where the PV components must be considered as a building elements. Furthermore, social factors also play a role, as architects, investors and home-owners are not yet always aware of the availability of such products or afraid by possible maintenance issues. All these aspects strongly limit the deployment of BIPV, despite an advantageous versatility with BIPV products extending from rigid to flexible, from colored to semi-transparent, and even customized-sized elements.

Lay summary

Content and research objectives

The main goal of this project is to investigate the major reasons and obstacles to a massive PV integration and to propose possible solutions. For this purpose, this project will (i) offer a better understanding of the failures and success of past and present BIPV solutions, in terms of technological choice, cost potential and acceptance; (ii) analyze BIPV solutions that have the potential to reach sufficient acceptance, (iii) propose a new methodology for the development of BIPV products, including a global failure model for the PV parts and (iv) demonstrate a next generation of BIPV products that satisfy manufacturability and low ecological footprint, with the potential of providing a substantial part of the Swiss electricity while generating an industrial value. Furthermore, practical cases will be assessed on sets of selected buildings in Neuchâtel.

Scientific and social context of the research

This project will generate new and essential information concerning technological issues and social barriers and it will propose solutions to overcome them. Hence, the outcome of this project will be of considerable value for the PV and building actors, including architects and installers. Furthermore, this project should significantly increase the public awareness towards BIPV.

Lead
L'intégration architecturale du photovoltaïque (BIPV) était annoncée comme une révolution sur le marché depuis plusieurs années. Cependant aucune des prédictions ne s'est réalisée, ceci souvent en raison des coûts additionnels de tels éléments par rapport aux modules photovoltaïques conventionnels. Cependant d'autres blocages expliquent le faible déploiement du BIPV jusqu’à présent: Outre certaines problématiques purement technologiques, on constate que des facteurs sociaux peuvent également être limitant. En particulier, les acteurs du bâtiment tels qu'architectes, entrepreneurs généraux et clients privés ne sont pas toujours bien informés sur les possibilités du BIPV et craignent les possibles problèmes et coûts relatifs à la maintenance. Tous ces aspects ont jusqu'alors entravé le développement du BIPV à large échelle malgré ses nombreux avantages tels que la versatilité des éléments de construction (rigidité ou flexibilité, couleur, transparence, dimension "sur mesure").

Lay summary

Contenu et objectifs du travail de recherche

L'objectif principal de ce projet est d'identifier les obstacles majeurs au déploiement à large échelle du PV comme élément de construction et de proposer des solutions pour les réduire. Dans ce but, le projet va (i) offrir une meilleure compréhension des réussites et échecs des projets de BIPV présents et passés, ceci d'un point de vue technologique, économique et de l'acceptation des concepts proposés par les acteurs impliqués; (ii) analyser les solutions BIPV qui ont le potentiel d'être acceptées par la majorité des acteurs, (iii) proposer une nouvelle méthodologie pour prévoir le développement du BIPV, incluant un modèle global de possibles défaillances techniques pour les éléments PV et (iv) proposer et démontrer la faisabilité de prototypes d'une nouvelle génération, présentant à la fois une faible empreinte écologique et le potentiel de fournir une part substantielle de l'électricité en Suisse tout en créant une valeur industrielle pour le pays. Finalement, une sélection de bâtiments de la ville de Neuchâtel seront étudiés comme cas d'exemples concrets.

 

Contexte scientifique et social du projet de recherche

Ce projet générera des informations essentielles sur les problématiques technologique et les barrières sociales entravant le déploiement de l'intégration architecturale du photovoltaïque. Il proposera des solutions pour résoudre les aspects autant technologiques que sociaux, qui devraient ensuite constituer des atouts considérables pour les divers acteurs du domaine. De plus, ce projet va permettre une prise de conscience plus large de la part du public des avantages du BIPV.