Lead
SREP-DROUGHT is a collaborative SCOPES project that will be jointly realized by partner from Georgia, the Czech Republic and Switzerland. This project will evaluate how summer low flows and droughts are affected by winter snowpack in three catchments: Alp (Prealps, central Switzerland), Kamenice (Jizera Mountains, northern Czech Republic), and Gudjaretis-Tskali (Little Caucasus, central Georgia). The expected results will improve the performance of the GIS-based rainfall-runoff models, examine their potential of further development through comparison in different catchments, and allow better prediction of low flow periods in various mountain zones across Europe.

Lay summary

SREP-DROUGHT will evaluate how summer low flows and droughts are affected by winter snowpack in three catchments Alpbach (Prealps, central Switzerland), Kamenice (Jizera Mountains, northern Czech Republic), and Gudjaretis-Tskali (Little Caucasus, central Georgia).

Two GIS-based rainfall-runoff models will simulate more than 10 years of runoff in streams by means of measured rain- and snowfall, other meteorological variables. We also use information on the geographical settings (features) of the catchments and knowledge of the main hydrological processes involved that transform rainfall into streamflow. These processes in the selected mountainous catchments include snow accumulation and melt, evapotranspiration, recharge and subsurface storage until the summer outflow, and will be studied by means of environmental isotopes 18O and 2H. This knowledge will result in parameters such as contribution of snowmelt water in the streamflow and time the water spends in the underground between snowmelt recharge and outflow.

The obtained parameters will be employed for improvement of the models and therefore for a better simulation of runoff in snowmelt-dominated catchments. This approach will be tested at two catchment scales (small catchment 1-2 km2 and larger catchment 100-200 km2) in all three countries.

The results will improve the performance of the GIS-based rainfall-runoff models, examine their potential of further development through comparison in different catchments, and allow better prediction of low flow periods in various mountain zones across Europe.

Lead
SREP-DROUGHT ist ein SCOPES-Projekt, in welcher Partners aus Georgien, der Tschechische Republik und der Schweiz zusammenarbeiten werden. Das Projekt befasst sich mit der Erfassung der Abhängigkeit der Sommer-Niedrigwasser und Sommer-Trockenzeiten durch die Winterschneedecke in den drei Einzugsgebieten Alp (Voralpen, Zentralschweiz), Kamenice (Isergebirge, Nordböhmen), und Gudjaretis-Tskali (Kleiner Kaukasus, Zentralgeorgien).Die Resultate werden die Möglichkeiten der GIS-basierten Niederschlag-Abfluss-Modelle verbessern, ihr Weiterentwicklungspotential durch den Einsatz in unterschiedlichen Einzugsgebieten erörtern. Oberzeil ist die Verbesserung der Vorhersage von Niedrigwasserperioden und Trockenheit in verschiedenen europäischen Gebirgsregionen.

Lay summary

SREP-DROUGHT befasst sich mit der Erfassung der Abhängigkeit der Sommer-Niedrigwasser und Sommer-Trockenzeiten durch die Winterschneedecke in den drei Einzugsgebieten Alpbach (Voralpen, Zentralschweiz), Kamenice (Isergebirge, Nordböhmen), und Gudjaretis-Tskali (Kleiner Kaukasus, Zentralgeorgien).

Zwei GIS-basierte Niederschlags-Abfluss-Modelle werden eine mehr als 10-jährige Abflussreihe simulieren. Dafür werden gemessene Daten zum Niederschlag und Schneefall sowie weiteren meteorologischen Variablen benötigt. Des weiteren verwenden die Modelle lokale Rauminformationen (Geländehöhe, Landbedeckung, Bodenkennwerte) und Kenntnisse der dominanten hydrologischen Prozesse, um den gegebenen Niederschlagsinput in Abfluss umzuwandeln. Zu diesen Prozessen gehören in unseren ausgewählten Einzugsgebieten insbesondere Schneeakkumulation und –ablation (Schneeschmelze), Verdunstung, Grundwasserneubildung, Grundwasserspeicherung bis zum Sommerabfluss. Diese Prozesse werden auch mithilfe von natürlichen Isotopen 18O und 2H untersucht.

Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden zur Verbesserung der Modelle und somit zu besserer Abflusssimulation in schneedominierten Einzugsgebieten beitragen. Dieses Vorgehen wird in zwei unterschiedlichen Massstäbsebenen (kleines Einzugsgebiet: 1 – 2 km2; und grosses Einzugsgebiet: 100 – 200 km2) in allen drei Einzugsgebieten getestet.

Die Resultate werden die Möglichkeiten der GIS-basierten Niederschlag-Abfluss-Modelle verbessern, ihr Weiterentwicklungspotential durch den Einsatz in unterschiedlichen Einzugsgebieten erörtern. Oberzeil ist die Verbesserung der Vorhersage von Niedrigwasserperioden und Trockenheit in verschiedenen europäischen Gebirgsregionen.