Lead
OPAL seeks to explore alternative scenarios for oil palm expansion to inform policy and land use development in Indonesia, Colombia and Cameroon. These scenarios, developed with local communities and oil palm companies, will merge the social, economic, and ecological drivers of oil palm development. We will assess the outcomes of different scenarios with respect to trade-offs among biodiversity, hydrological and carbon sequestration ecosystem services, and local livelihoods.

Lay summary

The expansion of oil palm (Elaeis guineensis) is one of the main drivers of land use change and deforestation in the tropics. This expansion provides significant economic earnings for producer countries, corporations and smallholders, but at the cost of negative externalities within and beyond the landscapes in which oil palm is grown. Stakeholders and decision makers need to devise and adopt ‘green’ development trajectories that balance development and conservation goals in an environment with pervasive uncertainties. A better understanding of the socio-economic and ecological processes that shape environmental outcomes, and of the feedbacks that such outcomes impose on society, will help chart a path towards more sustainable and inclusive futures.

We propose to improve the management of oil palm landscapes across tropical Asia, Africa and Latin America by engaging stakeholders and agents of change with plausible oil palm development scenarios at multiple scales. These scenarios will be developed through an integrated platform that merges the social, economic, and ecological drivers that shape oil palm development. Using such a platform we will assess the outcomes of different scenarios with respect to trade-offs among biodiversity, hydrological and carbon sequestration ecosystem services, and local livelihoods.

Our consortium is led by ETH Zurich and includes international institutions (CIFOR, ICRAF, WWF etc.) and many local partners in Indonesia, Cameroon and Colombia, including representatives of oil palm companies and community interests in all three countries. We draw on the expertise and interdisciplinary nature of our consortium to undertake a long-term comparative project that spans regional contexts. Our outputs will be relevant to producers and policy makers in the target producer countries, and to consumers in Switzerland and Europe more generally.

Lead
OPAL erarbeitet alternative Szenarien der Erweiterung von Ölpalmenplantagen und bildet die Grundlage der Entscheidungsfindung für Strategien und Landnutzungsentwicklung in Indonesien, Kolumbien und Kamerun. Die Szenarien werden mit der lokalen Gesellschaft und Palmölunternehmern entwickelt unter Berücksichtigung der sozialen, ökonomischen und ökologischen Treiber. Die Ergebnisse werden gewertet bezüglich der Kompromisse zwischen Biodiversität, der Wasserhaushalt- und Kohlenstoffbindungs- Ökosystemdienstleistung sowie der Sicherung der lokalen Existenzgrundlage.

Lay summary

Die Erweiterung der Anbaufläche von Ölpalmen ist einer der Hauptgründe der Landnutzungsänderung und des Verlusts der Wälder in den Tropen. Dieser Ausbau bietet erhebliche monetäre Gewinne für die Erzeugerländer, Unternehmer und Kleinbauern, birgt jedoch negative Auswirkungen innerhalb und außerhalb der Landschaften, in denen Ölpalmen angebaut werden. Interessensgruppen und Entscheidungsträger müssen "grüne" Entwicklungspfade entwickeln und anwenden um die Balance zwischen Entwicklungs- und Naturschutzziele in einem Umfeld mit tiefgreifenden Unsicherheiten zu gewährleisten. Ein besseres Verständnis der sozioökonomischen und ökologischen Prozesse, die die Umwelt beeinflussen, sowie deren Rückkoppelung mit der Gesellschaft ist wegweisend für eine nachhaltige und integrale Strategie.

Mit unserer Forschung wollen wir in Zusammenarbeit mit Interessensgruppen und Akteuren das Management der Anbaugebiete von  Ölpalmen in Asien, Afrika und Lateinamerika mit plausiblen Entwicklungsszenarien auf verschiedenen Skalen verbessern. Diese Szenarien basieren auf  einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der soziale, wirtschaftliche und ökologische Treiber, die den Ölpalmenanbau beeinflussen, kombiniert. Die Ergebnisse der verschiedenen Szenarien werden bezüglich der Kompromisse zwischen der Biodiversität, der Wasserhaushalts- und Kohlenstoffbindungs-Ökosystemdienstleistung sowie der Sicherung der lokalen Existenzgrundlage gewertet.

Unser Konsortium wird von der ETH Zürich geleitet und umfasst internationale Institutionen und lokale Partner in Indonesien, Kamerun und Kolumbien. Darunter sind Vertreter der Palmölfirmen und der lokalen Bevölkerung aller drei Länder. Unser Wissen und der interdisziplinäre Charakter unseres Konsortiums ermöglicht dieses langfristige vergleichende Projekt, das den regionalen Kontext mitberücksichtigt. Unsere Resultate werden relevant sein für die Produzenten und politischen Entscheidungsträger der Produktionsländer sowie für die Konsumenten der Schweiz und weltweit.