Lead
In deciding whether asylum seekers are granted asylum or not, immigration officers and judges in Switzerland as elsewhere must not only decide whether an asylum seeker fits the definition of a refugee. They must also assess the credibility of the asylum seeker’s statements. This research project analyses the assessment of credibility.

Lay summary

In deciding whether asylum seekers are granted asylum or not, immigration officers and judges in Switzerland as elsewhere must not only decide whether an asylum seeker fits the definition of a refugee. They must also assess the credibility of the asylum seeker’s statements. In fact, the majority of negative asylum decisions are based on the authorities attributing a lack of credibility to the claims. In this research project, it is precisely this assessment of credibility that is analysed. 

In this research project we focus on four of the main actors involved in the asylum procedures: asylum seekers, legal advisors, officers working for the Federal Office of Migration as well as judges and clerks in the Federal Administrative Tribunal. By looking at these different actors the project examines how credibility and the lack of credibility are defined, what meanings are ascribed to these concepts, and how credibility is practically constructed and used. Apart from studying these actors' perceptions of and dealings with credibility, the project also intends to analyse the “struggles over credibility” between them when striving to enhance their institution’s credibility. 
The approach of this research project is new to the debates on credibility assessment in asylum procedures in that it focuses on asylum seekers as well as asylum “makers” in the construction of credibility. Thus, all actors in this study are considered as participants with social agency, who contribute (even though unequally) to the generation and transformation of credibility criteria. Through this, state- and non-state actors, as well as bureaucrats and non-bureaucrats are brought together in the production of state categories regarding credibility assessment. The project relies on a multi-sited ethnographic approach. Fieldwork methods employed are interviews, participant observation and the collection of written documents.

Lead
En Suisse, lors de la prise de décision dans les procédures d’asile, les autorités et les juges ne décident pas seulement si un-e requérant-e d’asile répond à la définition de réfugié, mais ils évaluent aussi la vraisemblance de ses déclarations. Dans les faits, le manque de vraisemblance de la demande constitue la justification de la majorité des décisions négatives. C’est ce processus de prise de décision sur la vraisemblance des demandes d’asile qui est analysé dans ce projet de recherche.

Lay summary

 

La recherche se concentre sur quatre acteurs de la procédure d’asile: les requérant-e-s d’asile, les conseiller-ère-s juridiques, ainsi que les collaborateur-trice-s de l’Office fédéral des migrations (ODM) et les juges du Tribunal administratif fédéral (TAF). Le projet cherche à comprendre comment ces différents acteurs définissent la vraisemblance et le manque de vraisemblance; quelles significations sont données à ces concepts; et comment, dans leurs pratiques, la notion de vraisemblance est construite et utilisée. Outre l’intérêt porté aux perceptions et usages de la vraisemblance, le projet cherche également à analyser la «lutte pour la crédibilité» entre certains de ces acteurs qui cherchent à renforcer la crédibilité de leurs institutions.

Cette recherche amène de nouvelles perspectives dans les discussions sur la vraisemblance dans la procédure d’asile, car elle s’intéresse aussi bien aux requérant-e-s d’asile qu’aux autorités dans la construction sociale de la vraisemblance. Tous les acteurs sont en effet considérés comme possédant une certaine marge de manœuvre et contribuant (bien que de manière inégale) à la production et à la transformation des critères de vraisemblance. Acteurs étatiques et non étatiques, bureaucratiques ou non, sont donc pris ensemble pour étudier la production des catégories étatiques liées à l’évaluation de la vraisemblance.  

Le projet de recherche repose sur une approche ethnographique multi-sites. Les méthodes de travail utilisées sont la conduite d’entretiens, l’observation participante ainsi que la collecte et l’analyse de documents écrits.