Lead
The overall goal of this interdisciplinary study is to investigate acute, short- and long-term effects of road, railway and aircraft noise exposure on annoyance, sleep disturbances and cardiometabolic risk. Noise exposure patterns that most strongly affect individuals are identified by means of sleep experiments, surveys and epidemiological research. In addition, the role of individual characteristics such as age and gender, noise sensitivity and genetic predispositions will be elucidated.

Lay summary

Aims: The overall goal of this project is to investigate acute, short- and long-term effects of road, railway and aircraft noise exposure on annoyance, sleep disturbances and cardiometabolic risk. The project aims at identifying noise exposure patterns that most strongly affect individuals during sleep and thus may ultimately result in long-term health consequences.

Methods: A nationwide assessment of road, railway and aircraft noise exposure will be conducted. In addition to average exposure, exposure modelling will be considerably refined to reflect additional exposure characteristics such as the degree of intermittence of noise events or the diurnal distribution of noise. During a one-week period in the sleep-laboratory, volunteers will be randomly exposed to different noise scenarios and effects on sleep as well as cardiometabolic parameters and subsequent cognitive performance will be investigated. Noise annoyance and coping responses in the Swiss population will be evaluated via a representative survey. Taking into account biomarkers and other factors including air pollution, data from two large on-going epidemiological studies (SAPALDIA Biobank and Swiss National Cohort) will be used to explore the exposure-response association for the various traffic noise sources and cardiometabolic morbidity and mortality.

Significance: A key asset of this interdisciplinary study is the mutual combination of human experimental and epidemiological research to address acute, short- and long-term noise effects on sleep and cardiometabolic outcomes. Source-specific exposure-response functions will be determined giving due consideration to the acoustical characteristics of noise, such as the distribution of noise events during the night. This contribution to the understanding of health risks, especially for urban dwellers, and is highly relevant for regulating environmental noise.

Lead
Das Hauptziel dieser interdisziplinären Studie ist die Untersuchung von akuten, kurz- und langfristigen Auswirkungen von Strassen-, Schienen- und Flugverkehrslärm auf die Belästigung, den Schlaf und die kardiometabolische Gesundheit. Dabei wird im Schlaflabor, mittels Befragungen und in epidemiologischen Studien vertieft evaluiert, welche Rolle dabei die Lärmcharakteristika und Persönlichkeitsmerkmale wie Lärmsensitivität oder genetische Prädisposition spielen.

Lay summary

Ziele: Das Hauptziel der Studie ist die Untersuchung von akuten, kurz- und langfristigen Auswirkungen von Strassen-, Schienen- und Flugverkehrslärm auf die Belästigung, den Schlaf und die kardiometabolische Gesundheit. Insbesondere wird evaluiert welche Lärmcharakteristika für Schlafstörungen und langfristige gesundheitliche Auswirkungen bedeutsam sind. Weiter wird auch erforscht, welche Rollen die Lärmsensitivität, genetische Prädispositionen und andere Persönlichkeitsmerkmale spielen.

Methode: Die Lärmbelastung durch Strassen-, Schienen und Luftverkehr wird für die gesamte Schweizer Bevölkerung modelliert. Neben der Höhe der Belastung werden dabei auch andere Charakteristika berücksichtigt wie die tageszeitliche Verteilung oder die Ereignishaftigkeit der Lärmbelastung. Im Schlaflabor werden Probanden während einer Woche zufällig verschiedenen Lärmszenarien ausgesetzt und Effekte auf den Schlaf, kardiometabolische Parameter und kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit am Folgetag analysiert. In einer repräsentativen Bevölkerungserhebung wird evaluiert, wie stark die Verkehrslärmbelästigung im Alltag ist und wie damit umgegangen wird. In zwei grossen laufenden epidemiologischen Studien (SAPALDIA Biobank und Schweizer Nationale Kohortenstudie) wird unter Berücksichtigung von Biomarkern und anderen Faktoren wie Luftbelastung untersucht wie sich die Lärmbelastung zu Hause langfristig auf die kardiometabolische Gesundheit auswirkt.

Signifikanz: Eine besondere Stärke dieser interdisziplinären Studie ist die Kombination von experimentellen und epidemiologischen Forschungsmethoden, zur Erforschung der Wechselwirkungen von akuten, kurz- und langfristigen Auswirkungen. Für Strassen-, Schienen- und Luftverkehrslärm werden Expositions-Wirkungsbeziehungen hergeleitet und dabei verschiedene Charakteristika des Lärms mitberücksichtig. Damit kann das Gesundheitsrisiko der Lärmbelastung besser verstanden werden, was für eine adäquate Regulierung der Lärmbelastung relevant ist.