Lead
Soil organic matter is very important for many soil functions. How long carbon remains in the soil is a key factor, but until now this has been little understood. Samuel Abiven and his team would like to raise the understanding of the dynamics of soil carbon. They are particularly concerned with the reaction of the soil organic matter to climate change and to changes in land use.

Lay summary

The soil organic matter consists of a mixture of organic molecules that come from plant residues, as well as micro-organisms that decompose these residues in the soil and transform them. The soil organic matter contains a significant amount of the carbon, which, in terms of quantity comes globally to almost three times more than the amount contained in the atmosphere in the form of carbon dioxide and methane. In the soil, the carbon is however turning over much more slowly than in the atmosphere or with plant biomass. Soils can therefore be a sink for carbon, but also serve as a source, if conditions change and decomposition is accelerated. Climate change, for instance, can modify micro-organism activity as well as the structure of the soil organic matter. Changes in land use can change the physico-chemical properties, as well as the kind of litter material that penetrates the soil. The investigations will be coordinated with the research team of Frank Hagedorn (WSL) and Tim Eglinton (ETH Zurich).

It is currently difficult to characterise the development of soil organic matter underlying these changes. It depends to a large part on the vulnerability of the organic soil matter to these changes. The project examines the vulnerability of soils, which – just like forest soils – possess a very high level of organic matter and therefore have a higher risk of losing soil matter as a consequence of climate and land use changes. The team, in so doing, is searching for possibilities to ascertain the vulnerability of the soils by examining their properties. It is be possible in this way to identify the most endangered soils and take suitable protective measures.

Lead
Les substances organiques du sol jouent un rôle central dans de nombreuses fonctions du sol. Si la durée de stockage du carbone dans le sol est déterminante, elle reste encore mal comprise aujourd’hui. Samuel Abiven et son équipe souhaitent permettre une meilleure compréhension de la dynamique du carbone des sols. Ils s’intéressent plus particulièrement à la réaction des substances organiques du sol au changement climatique et à l’évolution de l’utilisation des sols.

Lay summary

La matière organique du sol consiste en un mélange complexe de molécules issues de détritus végétaux, mais aussi de micro-organismes qui décomposent et reorganisent ces déchets dans le sol. La matière organique du sol stocke une part importante du carbone, presque trois fois plus que ce que l’on peut trouver sous forme de dioxide de carbone et de méthane dans l’atmosphère à l’échelle mondiale. Cependant, le temps de résidence du carbone dans le sol est beaucoup plus long que dans l’atmosphère ou que dans la biomasse végétale. C’est pourquoi les sols peuvent être à la fois un puits et une source de carbone en cas de changement des conditions entraînant une accélération de la décomposition. Les changements climatiques peuvent par exemple modifier l’activité des micro-organismes, mais aussi la structure de la matière organique du sol. L’évolution de l’utilisation du sol peut modifier les propriétés physico-chimiques du sol, ainsi que la nature des litières qui y pénètrent. Cette étude est menée en collaboration avec les équipes de recherche de Frank Hagedorn (WSL) et Tim Eglinton (EPF Zurich).

L’évolution des matières organiques du sol soumises à ces changements est actuellement difficile à établir. Elle dépend pour l’essentiel de leur vulnérabilité à ces changements. Le projet étudie la vulnérabilité des sols qui, comme les sols forestiers, présentent une teneur élevée en substances organiques et sont par conséquent exposés à un risque accru de perte de substances en raison du changement climatique et de l’évolution de l’utilisation des sols. L’équipe recherche les moyens permettant de déterminer la vulnérabilité des sols à l’aide de leurs propriétés. Cela doit permettre d’identifier les sols les plus menacés et d’engager des mesures de protection adaptées.