Lead
Building on the urban sprawl data going back to 1885, the team of Felix Kienast is examining which political, planning and socio-economic factors contribute to urban sprawl and to unbridled soil consumption. The team is developing forecast models and aims to estimate, using various scenarios, the effect of new planning instruments and of financial incentive systems, as well as future soil consumption. Based on that, practical proposals to reduce urban sprawl should result.

Lay summary

Since the 1950s, urban sprawl has been progressing practically unchecked in Switzerland. There are, however, districts that have very successfully managed to keep urban sprawl under check. Overall, however, this trend has not been successfully stopped. In order to restrict the associated soil consumption, innovative instruments and measures are in demand. In order to develop these, it is necessary to better understand the causes of urban sprawl.

The project aims to examine the political, planning and socio-economic factors, the so-called drivers, which have been determining urban sprawl since the 1950s. Data on urban sprawl going back to 1885 will serve as the basis for this analysis. The identified drivers will be used in spatial forecast models. Thanks to these models, it will be possible to estimate future urban sprawl and soil consumption using a range of scenarios. In so doing, both developments that adhere to the principle of “business as usual” and situations that arise through the implementation of financial incentives and new planning instruments will be monitored.

Thanks to this project, it will be possible to draw up risk maps for soil consumption caused by urban sprawl. It will also work on coming up with practical proposals to reduce urban sprawl. For selected model districts and regions, an in-depth analysis will be carried out of the causal relationships between politico-administrative and socio-economic conditions, planning and economic steering instruments and urban sprawl.

Lead
Aufbauend auf Daten zur Siedlungsentwicklung seit 1885 untersucht das Team von Felix Kienast, welche politischen, planerischen und sozio-ökonomischen Faktoren zur Zersiedelung und zum ungebremsten Bodenverbrauch beitragen. Es entwickelt Vorhersagemodelle und schätzt mittels Szenarien die Wirkung neuer Planungsinstrumente und finanzieller Anreizsysteme auf den künftigen Bodenverbrauch ab. Gestützt darauf sollen praxisreife Vorschläge zur Reduktion der Zersiedelung entstehen.

Lay summary

Seit den 1950er-Jahren schreitet die Zersiedelung in der Schweiz praktisch ungebremst voran. Zwar gibt es Gemeinden, die die Zersiedelung recht erfolgreich in Grenzen halten. Insgesamt ist es jedoch nicht gelungen, den Trend zu brechen. Um den damit verbundenen Bodenverbrauch zu bremsen, sind innovative Instrumente und Massnahmen gefragt. Um solche zu entwickeln, ist es notwendig, die Ursachen der Zersiedelung besser zu verstehen.

Das Projekt will die politischen, planerischen und sozio-ökonomischen Faktoren, die sogenannten Treiber, untersuchen, die seit den 1950er-Jahren die Zersiedelung bestimmen. Als Basis für diese Analyse dienen Daten zur Zersiedelung seit 1885. Die identifizierten Treiber werden in räumlichen Vorhersagemodellen verwendet. Diese ermöglichen es, die künftige Zersiedelung und den Bodenverbrauch mittels Szenarien abzuschätzen. Dabei werden sowohl Entwicklungen beobachtet, die nach dem Motto «weiter wie gewohnt» («business as usual») verlaufen, als auch Situationen, die sich durch den Einsatz finanzieller Anreize und neuer planerischer Instrumente ergeben.

Das Projekt erlaubt es, Risikokarten für den Bodenverbrauch durch Zersiedelung zu erstellen. Zudem arbeitet es praxisreife Vorschläge zur Reduktion der Zersiedelung aus. Für ausgewählte Modellgemeinden und -regionen erfolgt eine vertiefte Analyse der kausalen Zusammenhänge zwischen politisch-administrativen bzw. sozioökonomischen Bedingungen, planerischen und ökonomischen Lenkungsinstrumenten und der Zersiedelung.