Lead
Building on the urban sprawl data going back to 1885, the team of Felix Kienast is examining which political, planning and socio-economic factors contribute to urban sprawl and to unbridled soil consumption. The team is developing forecast models and aims to estimate, using various scenarios, the effect of new planning instruments and of financial incentive systems, as well as future soil consumption. Based on that, practical proposals to reduce urban sprawl should result.

Lay summary

Since the 1950s, urban sprawl has been progressing practically unchecked in Switzerland. There are, however, districts that have very successfully managed to keep urban sprawl under check. Overall, however, this trend has not been successfully stopped. In order to restrict the associated soil consumption, innovative instruments and measures are in demand. In order to develop these, it is necessary to better understand the causes of urban sprawl.

The project aims to examine the political, planning and socio-economic factors, the so-called drivers, which have been determining urban sprawl since the 1950s. Data on urban sprawl going back to 1885 will serve as the basis for this analysis. The identified drivers will be used in spatial forecast models. Thanks to these models, it will be possible to estimate future urban sprawl and soil consumption using a range of scenarios. In so doing, both developments that adhere to the principle of “business as usual” and situations that arise through the implementation of financial incentives and new planning instruments will be monitored.

Thanks to this project, it will be possible to draw up risk maps for soil consumption caused by urban sprawl. It will also work on coming up with practical proposals to reduce urban sprawl. For selected model districts and regions, an in-depth analysis will be carried out of the causal relationships between politico-administrative and socio-economic conditions, planning and economic steering instruments and urban sprawl.

Lead
En se fondant sur les données relatives au mitage depuis 1885, l’équipe de Felix Kienast étudie les facteurs politiques, de planification et socio-économiques ayant contribué au mitage et à l’utilisation effrénée du sol. Elle conçoit des modèles de prévision et évalue l’impact des nouveaux instruments de planification et systèmes d’incitation financière, ainsi que la future utilisation du sol. Cette étude doit permettre la formulation de propositions pratiques visant à la réduction du mitage.

Lay summary

Depuis les années 1950, le mitage du territoire progresse en Suisse sans pratiquement aucune limite. Si certaines communes sont parvenues à le contenir, la tendance générale n’a pas pu être inversée. Pour ralentir l’utilisation du sol qui en découle, il faut trouver des instruments et des mesures novateurs. Leur élaboration impose de mieux comprendre les causes du mitage.

Le projet a pour but d’étudier les facteurs politiques, de planification et socio-économiques – les moteurs – qui influent sur le mitage du territoire depuis les années 1950. Cette analyse repose sur les données relatives au mitage depuis 1885. Les moteurs identifiés sont intégrés à des modèles de prévision spatiale. Ces derniers permettent de déterminer l’évolution future du mitage du territoire et de l’utilisation du sol au moyen de scénarios. Sont observées dans ce cadre aussi bien les évolutions s’opérant selon le principe du statu quo (« business as usual ») que les situations résultant de la mise en œuvre d’incitations financières et de nouveaux instruments de planification.

Le projet permet l’établissement de cartes de risque de l’utilisation du sol par le mitage. Il avance en outre des propositions pratiques visant à la réduction du mitage du territoire. Une analyse approfondie des liens de causalité entre les conditions politico-administratives ou socio-économiques, les instruments de planification et les instruments de régulation économique et le mitage du territoire est conduite pour les communes et régions modèles.