Lead
Nursing homes are increasingly becoming dying institutions for very elderly persons in need of care. This study examines how the diversity of modern societies - that is, the increasing variety of ways of life - is affecting how the end of life is handled in nursing homes.

Lay summary

Background
When nursing home residents are no longer completely able to express their wishes and needs for a "good dying", the nursing staff in particular takes on a supporting role. For the nursing homes, there is also in today’s society a necessity to deal with the marked diversity of residents and personnel, especially those with an immigration background.

Aim
This study aims to throw light on the social actions and the cultural interpretations of “good dying” in nursing homes. It will focus on how nursing homes handle social diversity, especially in the immigration context. Here the study will examine how communitisation and individuality take shape. The method will be an open ethnographic research strategy. The study will be conducted in three types of nursing home units that exhibit different forms of communiti-sation. The assumption is that the different forms of communitisation will produce different handling of the end of life.

Significance
The study will gain a better understanding of how social diversity structures the end of life in nursing homes, and how the persons involved interact. This understanding will contribute towards deriving in the present a set of elements of professional competency and the corre-sponding bases for a good end of life.

Lead
Altersheime werden zunehmend zu Sterbeinstitutionen für hochbetagte und pflegebedürftige Menschen. Dieses Projekt untersucht, wie sich die zunehmende Vielfalt von Lebenswelten auf die Gestaltung des Lebensendes in Altersheimen auswirkt.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Wenn Heimbewohner und -bewohnerinnen nicht mehr uneingeschränkt in der Lage sind, ihre Wünsche und Bedürfnisse für ein "gutes Sterben" zu äussern, übernimmt dabei insbesondere das Pflegepersonal eine tragende Rolle. Für die Heime ergibt sich in der heutigen Gesellschaft zudem die Notwendigkeit, sich mit der ausgeprägten Diversität von Bewohnerschaft und Personal auseinanderzusetzen, insbesondere solchen mit Migrationshintergrund.

Ziel
Das Projekt beabsichtigt, das soziale Handeln und die kulturellen Deutungen des "guten Sterbens" im Altersheim auszuleuchten. Es interessiert sich dafür, wie mit gesellschaftlicher Diversität, insbesondere im Migrationskontext verfahren wird. Dabei wird untersucht, wie sich die Vergemeinschaftung respektive die Individualität im Alltag gestaltet. Methodisch wird eine offene ethnographische Forschungsstrategie gewählt. Geforscht wird in drei Typen von Abteilungen, die unterschiedliche Formen von Vergemeinschaftung aufweisen. Die Forschenden gehen davon aus, dass die verschiedenen Formen der Vergemeinschaftung unterschiedliche Ausgestaltungen des Lebensendes hervorbringen.

Bedeutung
Die Studie soll ein besseres Verständnis davon gewinnen, wie gesellschaftliche Diversität das Lebensende im Altersheim strukturiert und wie die involvierten Akteure dabei interagieren. Dieses Verständnis trägt dazu bei, Elemente einer kompetenten beruflichen Handlungsfähigkeit und entsprechende Grundlagen für ein "gutes Lebensende" in der Gegenwart zu formulieren.