Lead
Nursing homes are increasingly becoming dying institutions for very elderly persons in need of care. This study examines how the diversity of modern societies - that is, the increasing variety of ways of life - is affecting how the end of life is handled in nursing homes.

Lay summary

Background
When nursing home residents are no longer completely able to express their wishes and needs for a "good dying", the nursing staff in particular takes on a supporting role. For the nursing homes, there is also in today’s society a necessity to deal with the marked diversity of residents and personnel, especially those with an immigration background.

Aim
This study aims to throw light on the social actions and the cultural interpretations of “good dying” in nursing homes. It will focus on how nursing homes handle social diversity, especially in the immigration context. Here the study will examine how communitisation and individuality take shape. The method will be an open ethnographic research strategy. The study will be conducted in three types of nursing home units that exhibit different forms of communiti-sation. The assumption is that the different forms of communitisation will produce different handling of the end of life.

Significance
The study will gain a better understanding of how social diversity structures the end of life in nursing homes, and how the persons involved interact. This understanding will contribute towards deriving in the present a set of elements of professional competency and the corre-sponding bases for a good end of life.

Lead
Les résidences pour personnes âgées se transforment de plus en plus souvent en institutions où meurent des personnes très âgées et dépendantes de soins. Ce projet de recherche étudie comment la diversité des sociétés modernes, c’est-à-dire la multiplication des modes de vie de toutes sortes, influe sur la structure de la fin de vie en résidence pour personnes âgées.

Lay summary

Contexte
Lorsque les personnes vivant en résidence pour personnes âgées ne sont plus entièrement en mesure d’exprimer leurs souhaits et leurs besoins concernant le "bien mourir", c’est en particulier le personnel soignant qui joue un rôle capital. Dans la société d’aujourd’hui, les résidences doivent de plus faire face à la grande diversité de leurs habitantes et habitants ainsi que de leur personnel, personnes issues de l'immigration en particulier.

But
Le projet vise à éclaircir l’action sociale et les interprétations culturelles du "bien mourir" dans les résidences pour personnes âgées. Il s’intéresse aux réponses apportées à la diversité sociale, en particulier dans un contexte de migration. Ce faisant, il étudie comment la collectivité et l’individualité sont structurées au quotidien. La méthode est celle d’une stratégie de recherche ethnographique ouverte. La recherche a lieu dans trois types de services, présentant différentes formes de collectivité. Les chercheurs supposent que les différentes formes de collectivité débouchent sur différentes manières de structurer la fin de vie.

Portée
L’étude entend améliorer la compréhension de la manière dont la diversité sociale structure la fin de vie dans les résidences pour personnes âgées et comment les acteurs impliqués interagissent ce faisant. Cette compréhension contribuera à la formulation d’éléments d’une activité professionnelle compétente ainsi que de bases pour le "bien mourir" à l’époque actuelle.