Lead
When a parent dies, children are dependent on support from outside the family. Based on bibliographical narratives of persons who lost a parent when they were adolescents, this study examines how they experienced the integration of institutional help in their lives.

Lay summary

Background
The context of this project is interdisciplinary efforts to improve institutionalised support for dying processes in palliative care-oriented facilities such as hospices or hospitals. The focus of the study is not on the dying but on family members of the dying. The experience of losing a closest relative puts adolescents into a crisis situation - and one in which they often utilise support services. The question is: what effect do the support services subsequently have in the course of the adolescents’ lives? This question has been neglected in the research so far.

Aim
This study aims to fill a research gap. Twenty open-ended interviews will be conducted with persons who lost a parent to illness when they were adolescents. The recorded narratives will be analysed using a detailed linguistic analysis.

Significance
In coming years, the problems connected with support for family members of the dying will have increased urgency in palliative care-oriented institutions and in social policy. This study will produce the needed basic knowledge. The findings will be used in practice as decision-making bases for institutions. For adequate support of adolescents, it is important to understand what biographical significance this support can have. The expected results should inform the designing of the support programmes.

Lead
Wenn ein Elternteil stirbt, sind die Kinder auf Unterstützung von aussen angewiesen. Anhand biographischer Erzählungen von Menschen, die als Jugendliche einen Elternteil verloren haben, wird untersucht dieses Projekt, wie sie die Integration von institutioneller Hilfe in den Lebenszusammenhang erlebt haben.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Das Projekt steht im Zusammenhang der interdisziplinären Bemühungen, die institutionalisierte Begleitung von Sterbeprozessen in palliativ orientierten Einrichtungen wie Sterbehospizen oder Krankenhäusern zu verbessern. Es will sich nicht auf die Sterbenden fokussieren, sondern auf die Angehörigen. Die Erfahrung, nächste Verwandte zu verlieren, bringt Jugendliche in eine Krisensituation, in der sie oft Unterstützungsangebote annehmen. Die Frage ist dann aber, welche Wirkung diese Unterstützungsleistungen in der weiteren Lebensgestaltung der Jugendlichen entfaltet. Diese Fragestellung wurde in der bisherigen Forschung vernachlässigt.

Ziel
Durch die Studie soll eine Forschungslücke geschlossen werden. Dabei werden rund 20 offene Interviews mit Menschen geführt, die im Jugendalter einen Elternteil durch Krankheit verloren haben. Die aufgezeichneten Erzählungen werden mittels einer sprachlichen Feinanalyse ausgewertet.

Bedeutung
Die Problematik rund um die Begleitung der Angehörigen von Sterbenden wird in palliativ orientierten Institutionen und in der Sozialpolitik in den nächsten Jahren an Dringlichkeit gewinnen. Das Projekt erarbeitet hierfür nötiges Grundlagenwissen. Die Erkenntnisse können als Entscheidungsgrundlagen für Institutionen praktisch genutzt werden. Für eine angemessene Unterstützung von Jugendlichen ist es wichtig zu verstehen, welche biographische Bedeutung entsprechende Hilfen für sie haben könnten. Die zu erwartenden Ergebnisse sollen in die Gestaltung solcher Unterstützungsprogramme einfliessen.