Lead
People in prison are not free to choose how and where they die. This means that the issue of dying with dignity requires special attention in the prison setting. This study examines what it means to die in prison and what ethical, legal and security-related issues are important.

Lay summary

Background
Under the law, persons in prison are supposed to have the same access to an equivalent range of services, including medical care, as the rest of the population. The majority of the issues and problems related to end-of-life in the general population are the same in the prison setting. But it must be considered that the conditions and processes connected with the end-of-life in prisons present a number of hurdles. These make meeting the demands of care and pain relief in the setting of incarceration and punishment more difficult. What is more, Swiss prisons house a steadily growing number of older persons. Also, the trend is for stricter and longer sentences, as can be seen in changes in prison sentence practice and in the new option of the lifelong detention. This increases the number of persons who will die in prison. Ongoing discussion about good dying and palliative care shows that precisely those persons who cannot choose how and where they die require special attention.

Aim
Using ethnographic methods, case studies and legal analyses, this study examines end-of-life issues from the perspective of different actors and at different institutional levels in the Swiss penitentiary system. The aim is to analyse the legal and institutional bases and current practice in dealing with the end-of-life and dying in different prisons. Further, the research team will reconstruct specific cases from the perspective of the persons involved (inmates, family members, staff, other institutional actors) and document emerging institutional solutions and examples of good practice.

Significance
This study takes up a new and growing social problem. It deals with institutional handling issues and good practice with regard to the end-of-life in the context of the Swiss penitentiary system and will thus serve the interests of both the practical and the research realm.

Lead
Les détenus ne peuvent pas décider librement comment et où ils vont mourir. En prison, la thématique de la mort dans la dignité requiert donc une attention particulière. Ce projet étudie ce que signifie finir ses jours en détention et quelles questions éthiques, juridiques et relatives à la sécurité se posent à cet égard.

Lay summary

Contexte
D’après le droit en vigueur, les détenus doivent avoir le même accès à la prise en charge médicale et aux soins que le reste de la population. La plupart des questions et des problèmes qui se posent au sujet de la fin de vie des personnes en liberté sont valables également en prison. Mais il faut tenir compte du fait que les conditions cadres et les structures de la prison entraînent toute une série d’obstacles pour ce qui est de la fin de vie. Elles rendent en effet plus difficile de respecter les exigences des soins et de l’allègement de la douleur dans le contexte de la détention et de la sanction. Par ailleurs, le nombre de personnes âgées est en augmentation régulière dans les prisons suisses comme en dehors. De plus, on constate une tendance aux peines plus dures et plus longues, comme on le voit aux modifications de la pratique d’internement et aux nouvelles possibilités d’internement à vie. Par conséquent, le nombre de personnes qui mourront en prison augmente. Le débat actuel sur le "bien mourir" et la médecine palliative montre que les personnes qui ne peuvent pas décider librement comment et où elles vont mourir ont besoin d’une attention particulière.

But
Par le biais de méthodes ethnographiques, d’études de cas et d’analyses juridiques, ce projet étudie des questions relatives à la fin de vie du point de vue de différents acteurs et à différents niveaux institutionnels de l’exécution des peines en Suisse. À cet effet, nous voulons analyser les bases légales et institutionnelles ainsi que les pratiques actuelles de gestion de la fin de vie et de la mort dans différentes prisons. En outre, l’équipe de recherche reconstruit des cas concrets du point de vue des personnes concernées (détenus, proches, personnel, autres acteurs institutionnels) et documente ce qui peut faire figure de solutions institutionnelles et d’exemples de bonnes pratiques.

Portée
Le projet se penche sur un problème social nouveau qui va prendre de l’ampleur. Il étudie des questions de gestion institutionnelle et de bonne pratique vis-à-vis de la fin de vie dans le contexte carcéral en Suisse et sert à la fois les intérêts de la pratique et de la science.