Lead
Free radicals in lignin as the key to "green" chemicals Free radicals in the lignin probably present the key to its chemical breakdown into valuable chemicals. Should it be possible to influence the type and number of these highly chemically active molecules, this could lead to new procedures for making "green" chemicals.

Lay summary

Background
Biomass has the potential to replace fossil oil in the near future as a starting substance for the production of chemical products. The basic components of biomass are organic carbon compounds, including so-called aromatic hydrocarbons. In lignin—the "glue" that holds plants together—the latter are cross-linked in different ways to form a large molecule (macromole-cule). In order to be able to use the aromatic hydrocarbons in lignin as chemicals, they need to be split up into individual molecules. Without an understanding of the composition of lignin and of how it reacts to chemical "pressures", it is not possible to obtain more than a little of the desired substances, alongside many substances that are similar.

Aim
The macromolecule lignin has a different composition from plant to plant. The manner in which the lignin is retrieved from the plant also changes the structure of the lignin. In this project, researchers retrieve lignin from beech, spruce, poplar and pine using recognised chemical methods and analyse its composition, structure and chemical properties. Alongside the standard analyses, the researchers apply, in particular, electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy in order to determine the nature and concentration of the free radicals. By changing the solvent and other parameters such as pH, temperature and the addition of catalysts, the researchers find out how the nature and concentration of the free radicals change. The new insights will be used to produce commercially exploitable phenols from lignin via thermochemical splitting (e.g. through catalytic flash pyrolisis).

Significance
The research work can generate new, fundamental knowledge about the reactivity of lignin. In the future, this may enable researchers to break down lignin and subsequently produce "green" chemicals economically.

Lead
Les radicaux libres dans la lignine: la clé de la fabrication de substances chimiques "vertes" Les radicaux libres présents dans la lignine sont probablement la clé de sa décomposition chimique en de précieuses substances. Réussir à influencer la nature et le nombre de radicaux pourrait aboutir à de nouveaux procédés d’élaboration de produits chimiques "verts".

Lay summary

Contexte
Dans un futur proche, la biomasse a le potentiel de remplacer le pétrole comme matière de base pour la fabrication de produits chimiques. Les constituants élémentaires de la biomasse sont des composés carbonés organiques, notamment des hydrocarbures aromatiques. Dans la lignine, le "ciment" végétal, elles sont réticulées selon différentes variantes pour former une grosse molécule (macromolécule). Pour être utilisables sous forme de produits chimiques, les composés carbonés aromatiques de la lignine doivent être fragmentés en différentes molécules. Si l’on ne comprend pas la structure de la lignine et ses réactions sous les "charges" chimiques, on n’obtient que de faibles quantités des substances souhaitées, en plus de nombreuses substances similaires.

But
La structure macromoléculaire de la lignine varie d’une plante à l’autre. Le mode d’extraction de la lignine modifie également la lignine et sa structure. Dans ce projet, les chercheurs extraient la lignine du hêtre, de l’épicéa, du peuplier et du pin en recourant à des méthodes chimiques connues pour en analyser la composition, la structure et les propriétés chimiques. Pour déterminer les types des radicaux libres et leur concentration, ils procèdent aux analyses standard mais font aussi un usage intense de la spectrographie de résonance paramagnétique électronique. En modifiant le solvant et d’autres paramètres tels que le pH, la température ou par ajout de catalyseurs, les chercheurs déterminent les modifications des types de radicaux libres et leur concentration. Les conclusions tirées des travaux visent à produire des phénols économiquement exploitables par le fractionnement thermochimique (par ex. par pyrolyse flash catalytique).

Portée
Les travaux de recherche peuvent apporter de nouvelles connaissances fondamentales sur la réactivité de la lignine, qui pourraient permettre une décomposition de la lignine et, sur cette base, la production rentable de substances chimiques "vertes".