Lead
Combined production of fuels and chemicals from wood This project examines an innovative approach for pre-treating wood in order to produce fuels and chemicals. In this approach, the researchers combine hot water treatment with so-called radical scavengers.

Lay summary

Background
Biofuels from wood have economic and ecological advantages as compared to fuels from corn starch and sugar cane (costs, availability, no conflict with food production). However, it is much more difficult to transform wood into biofuels. This is because the components of wood—cellulose, hemicelluloses and lignin—are strongly interwoven to protect the plant against external forces, in particular. In the production of biofuels, this impedes the enzymatic degradation of cellulose and lignocellulose into their respective sugars, which can subsequently be fermented to produce, for example, bio-ethanol. Therefore, it is necessary to pre-treat the wood in order to break up its structure and improve the enzymatic access.

Aim
One possible treatment of biomass would be to dissolve it in hot water, but this is hampered by cross-linking reactions of emerging lignin fragments. So-called "radical scavengers" can stop these undesired reactions and make the wood much more soluble. This procedure is aimed at achieving, on the one hand, a cellulose fraction with improved enzymatic access and, on the other hand, a high-quality lignin fraction. The latter serves as a starting material for the production of aromatic chemicals.

Significance
The examined approach is aimed at producing fuels and aromatic chemicals which are today still gained from petrochemical resources. This opens up new avenues for gradually replacing fossil oil with biomass.

Lead
Fabrication combinée de carburants et de produits chimiques à partir de bois Une approche innovante de prétraitement du bois pour la production de carburants et de substances chimiques constitue le cœur de ce projet. Les chercheurs y combinent le prétraitement à l’eau chaude au recours à des "pièges à radicaux".

Lay summary

Contexte
Comparés aux biocarburants issus de l’amidon de maïs ou du sucre de canne, les biocarburants d’origine ligneuse présentent de nombreux atouts sur le plan économique et écologique (coûts, disponibilité et absence de concurrence avec la production d’aliments). En revanche, la transformation du bois en biocarburant s’avère beaucoup plus délicate. En effet, les constituants du bois tels que la cellulose, les hémicelluloses et la lignine sont étroitement enchevêtrés, notamment pour protéger la plante des influences extérieures. Lors de la production de biocarburant, cela empêche la dégradation enzymatique de la cellulose et de la lignocellulose en sucres, pouvant ensuite être distillés en bioéthanol. Un prétraitement du bois s’impose donc, afin d’en éclater la structure et d’améliorer l'accès enzymatique.

But
La préparation à l’eau chaude est une des solutions potentielles de prétraitement de la biomasse, qui est toutefois entravée par des réactions de réticulation des fragments de lignine. Les "pièges à radicaux" peuvent parer à ce phénomène indésirable et optimiser nettement le traitement initial du bois. Ce procédé est d’une part destiné à générer une fraction de cellulose à accès enzymatique amélioré et d’autre part à produire des fractions de lignine de grande qualité. Celle-ci sert alors de matériau de départ pour l’élaboration de substances chimiques aromatiques.

Portée
Le procédé étudié vise la production de carburants et de substances chimiques aromatiques qui proviennent actuellement de ressources pétrochimiques. Il ouvre de nouvelles possibilités de remplacement progressif du pétrole par la biomasse.