Lead
Ultra-light bio-based particleboard with a foam core Modern furniture boards are structurally optimised materials in terms of their mechanical properties and weight. The aim of this research project is to produce a bio-based sandwich panel covered with layers of wood chips and containing a core of foam. The new one-stage process lowers the production costs of panels compared to the usual procedures for the production of sandwich panels.

Lay summary

Background
Chip-based particleboards today have an average density of up to 700 kg/m3. Due to the rising price of raw materials and the growing demand for flat-pack furniture, manufacturers are trying to make panel materials significantly lighter in weight. Research work is focusing on new, cost-efficient production processes for sandwich panels with wood chip based top layers. Previous research has already shown that the procedure is feasible and the product quality is good. Further research is needed particularly in the development of a free-flowing foam precursor, i.e. a forerunner material for the production of foam that is cheap and meets the technical requirements for the process.

Aim
The researchers aim to achieve two goals in this project: firstly, to develop a foam system that satisfies the high ecological, technological and economic requirements; secondly, to adapt the procedure for the production of particleboards. For foam development, the focus is on the use of super-critical CO2 (carbon dioxide at the liquid-gas phase boundary) for making a foam precursor, which is a bioplastic from the group of polylactides (PLAs). In parallel, the researchers are also studying the potential of alternative basic materials and propellants. They are also expanding the (normally very narrow) temperature range for the compression of the top layers in order to have more leeway when choosing the foam system.

Significance
Light panel materials have great potential in the furniture sector, in interior design and as packaging material. Above 20 mm, honeycomb panels now offer a cheap alternative to chipboard. However, there is still a lack of light materials of standard strength for furniture panels. Bio-based lightweight boards could secure the long-term competitiveness of wood and wood products.

Lead
Panneau en bois ultraléger à base bio et au cœur de mousse Les panneaux modernes pour meubles sont des matériaux à la structure optimisée au regard de leurs propriétés mécaniques et de leur poids. Ce projet de recherche vise à développer un panneau sandwich, à base bio, doté d’un parement en particules de bois avec un cœur en mousse. Le nouveau procédé à phase unique permet une fabrication moins coûteuse des panneaux par rapport aux méthodes traditionnelles.

Lay summary

Contexte
Les panneaux à base de particules de bois présentent aujourd’hui une densité moyenne allant jusqu’à 700 kg/m3. Face à la hausse des prix des matières premières et de la demande en meubles prêts à emporter, les fabricants cherchent à réduire drastiquement le poids des matériaux constituants des panneaux. Les travaux de recherche sont axés sur un nouveau procédé peu onéreux de fabrication de panneaux sandwich dotés d’un parement en particules de bois et d’un cœur en mousse. Des travaux antérieurs avaient déjà montré la faisabilité du procédé et la qualité du résultat. Des recherches plus poussées étaient principalement requises pour développer un précurseur de mousse capable de s'écouler.

But
L’objectif poursuivi par les chercheurs de ce projet comporte deux volets: le développement d’un système de mousse satisfaisant aux hautes exigences écologiques, technologiques et économiques et l’adaptation du procédé à la fabrication de panneaux en matériaux à base de bois. Le développement de la mousse est centré sur l’utilisation de CO2 supercritique pour fabriquer un précurseur de la mousse. Il s’agit d’une matière plastique biologique issue du groupe des polylactides. Parallèlement, les chercheurs étudient le potentiel de produits alternatifs comme matière de départ et agent moussant. Dans le même temps, les chercheurs élargissent la zone de température pour la compression des couches extérieures pour diversifier l’éventail de choix du système de mousse.

Portée
Les matériaux légers pour panneaux ont un immense potentiel dans les domaines du mobilier et de l’aménagement intérieur et comme matériau d’emballage. Les panneaux en nid d’abeille de plus de 20 mm sont une alternative économique aux panneaux de particules. On manque toutefois encore de matériaux de construction légers de l’épaisseur standard des panneaux pour meubles. Dans ce segment, des panneaux à base bio de faible poids pourraient assurer la compétitivité à long terme du bois et des produits à base de bois.