Lead
Ecological use of wood resources in Switzerland In this project, researchers develop decision-making aids on environmental policy issues for actors in politics and industry. In so doing, they consider the entire life cycle of wood: from forestry via manufacturing and multiple use of wood products (cascade use) through to its use as a source of energy, or its disposal.

Lay summary

Background
Rising prices of resources and environmental problems call for an efficient use of renewable resources both for material and energetic applications. Thus future generations will not be able to afford to underuse the resource wood, as is still the case today. In order to make better use of wood, models are needed that not only incorporate mass fluxes, but also provide a comprehensive and spatially resolved assessment of the environment.

Aim
The aim of the project is to develop strategies that facilitate the sustainable and efficient use of wood resources in Switzerland. For this purpose, the researchers are studying existing and potential future value chains with the help of dynamic and spatially-resolved material flow and life-cycle analyses, improving methods for the assessment of ecological impacts of forestry and wood use as well as evaluating new technologies and giving feedback to their developers within the scope of NRP 66. The insights gained in the project will help the researchers to develop and assess different wood usage scenarios, from which they will derive strategies for decision-makers in politics, industry, forestry and research.

Significance
The project will result in a software tool which can be used to test nascent technologies in respect of their ecological consequences. First users of the new tool will be researchers developing new technologies and products in NRP 66 partner projects. Based on the knowledge gained through the research work, political strategies for an ecologically sound management of wood as a resource will be proposed.

Lead
Ökologische Nutzung der Holzressourcen in der Schweiz In diesem Projekt erarbeiten die Forschenden umweltpolitische Entscheidungsgrundla-gen für Politik, Industrie und Forstwirtschaft, um die Holznutzung in der Schweiz zu optimieren. Dabei betrachten sie den gesamten Lebensweg von Holz: von der Forstwirtschaft über die Herstellung und mehrfache Verwendung von Holzprodukten (Kaskadennutzung) bis zur energetischen Verwertung oder Entsorgung.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Steigende Ressourcenpreise und Umweltprobleme verlangen eine effiziente Nutzung von erneuerbaren Ressourcen sowohl für stoffliche als auch energetische Anwendungen. Zukünftige Generationen werden es sich daher nicht mehr erlauben können, die Ressource Holz zu unternutzen, so wie es heute noch der Fall ist. Um Holz besser nutzen zu können, braucht es Modelle, die nicht nur Massenflüsse einbeziehen, sondern auch die Umwelt umfassend und örtlich aufgeschlüsselt bewerten.

Ziel
Das Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung von Strategien, die es erlauben, die Holzressourcen in der Schweiz nachhaltig und effizient zu nutzen. Dafür bewerten die Forschenden bereits existierende und mögliche zukünftige Wertschöpfungsketten mit Hilfe einer dynamischen und örtlich aufgelösten Materialfluss- und Lebenszyklusanalyse, verbessern die Methoden zur Bewertung der ökologischen Auswirkungen von Forstwirtschaft und Holznutzung, evaluieren neue Technologien und geben Feedback an deren Entwickler im Rahmen des NFP 66. Die Erkenntnisse aus dem Projekt dienen den Forschenden dazu, verschiedene Holznutzungssze-narien zu entwickeln und zu bewerten, um daraus Strategien für Entscheidungsträger in Politik, Industrie, Forstwirtschaft und Forschung abzuleiten.

Bedeutung
Das Ergebnis dieses Projekts ist ein Anwendungsprogramm (Softwaretool), mit dem Technologien in der frühen Phase ihrer Entwicklung im Hinblick auf ihre ökologischen Folgen getestet werden können. Erstmalig nutzen können es jene Forschenden, die in Partnerprojek-ten des NFP 66 neue Technologien und Produkte entwickeln. Aufgrund der Erkenntnisse aus den Forschungsarbeiten werden auch politische Strategien für ein ökologisch sinnvolles Management der Ressource Holz vorgeschlagen.