Lead
Ecological use of wood resources in Switzerland In this project, researchers develop decision-making aids on environmental policy issues for actors in politics and industry. In so doing, they consider the entire life cycle of wood: from forestry via manufacturing and multiple use of wood products (cascade use) through to its use as a source of energy, or its disposal.

Lay summary

Background
Rising prices of resources and environmental problems call for an efficient use of renewable resources both for material and energetic applications. Thus future generations will not be able to afford to underuse the resource wood, as is still the case today. In order to make better use of wood, models are needed that not only incorporate mass fluxes, but also provide a comprehensive and spatially resolved assessment of the environment.

Aim
The aim of the project is to develop strategies that facilitate the sustainable and efficient use of wood resources in Switzerland. For this purpose, the researchers are studying existing and potential future value chains with the help of dynamic and spatially-resolved material flow and life-cycle analyses, improving methods for the assessment of ecological impacts of forestry and wood use as well as evaluating new technologies and giving feedback to their developers within the scope of NRP 66. The insights gained in the project will help the researchers to develop and assess different wood usage scenarios, from which they will derive strategies for decision-makers in politics, industry, forestry and research.

Significance
The project will result in a software tool which can be used to test nascent technologies in respect of their ecological consequences. First users of the new tool will be researchers developing new technologies and products in NRP 66 partner projects. Based on the knowledge gained through the research work, political strategies for an ecologically sound management of wood as a resource will be proposed.

Lead
Exploitation écologique des ressources de bois en Suisse Les chercheurs de ce projet élaborent des bases décisionnelles de politique écologique destinées aux acteurs politiques, industriels et sylvicoles pour optimiser l’exploitation du bois en Suisse. Le bois est examiné tout au long de son cycle de vie: de la sylviculture à la production, en passant par ses multiples usages (utilisation en cascade) jusqu’à sa valorisation énergétique ou élimination.

Lay summary

Contexte
Face à la hausse des prix des ressources et aux problèmes écologiques, une exploitation efficace des ressources renouvelables, concernant tant les matières que les applications énergétiques, s’impose. Pour ces raisons, les générations futures ne pourront plus se permettre de sous-exploiter la ressource bois comme nous le faisons aujourd’hui. Une meilleure exploitation du bois appelle des modèles qui intègrent des flux de masse tout en tenant compte du facteur environnemental, aux niveaux global et local.

But
Le projet vise à développer des stratégies permettant une exploitation durable et efficace des ressources de bois en Suisse. A ces fins, par une analyse dynamique et locale des flux de matériaux et des cycles de vie, les chercheurs font une évaluation des chaînes de création de valeur existantes et futures, améliorent les méthodes d’évaluation de l’impact écologique de la sylviculture et de l’exploitation du bois, évaluent les nouvelles technologies et donnent un retour d’information à leurs développeurs dans le cadre du PNR 66. Les chercheurs mettent les conclusions du projet au profit du développement et de l’évaluation de différents scénarios d’exploitation du bois pour en dériver des stratégies destinées aux décideurs des sphères politique, industrielle, sylvicole et scientifique.

Portée
Le but de ce projet est la conception d’un logiciel permettant de tester les technologies dans la phase précoce de leur développement au regard de leur impact écologique. Les chercheurs à l’origine de technologies nouvelles et de produits innovants dans des projets partenaires du PNR 66 en auront la primeur. Sur la base des conclusions tirées de ces travaux, des stratégies politiques seront proposées dans l’optique d’une gestion écologiquement judicieuse de la ressource bois.