Lead
More floods - more sediment transport - less fish? The frequency and possibly the extent of flooding will change as the climate changes. An increase or a seasonal shift in the amount of gravel and sand that is transported by rivers may be expected. Existing measures against floods need to be adapted. What effects do flooding and sediment transport have on fish environments?

Lay summary

Background
Climate change will considerably affect flooding and sediment transport in mountain streams over the coming 40 to 100 years. It is to be expected that the number, intensity and temporal distribution of rainfall events will change. This could lead to more frequent and larger floods. Also, the melting of glaciers and permafrost uncovers sediment that can be washed away. For this reason, in some areas mountain streams will carry more gravel and sand. If considerably larger sediment volumes are transported, existing protection measures will only partially fulfil their functions. The modified distribution of material in the rivers will also affect the living conditions of fish. Flood occurrence in winter and spring is likely to change and can interfere with the success of natural reproduction. However, the exact repercussions are hardly known yet.

Objectives and methods

In this project, the consequences of climate change on sediment transport and the quality of fish habitat are examined. Using a model, we calculate sediment budgets for three river catchments, i.e. the Kleine Emme, Brenno, and Hasliaare rivers. We compare the model predictions with data from past flood events in these rivers. Habitat conditions for brown trout are investigated with field campaigns. Climate models predict a future shift in the flow regime during winter periods. We examine how the resulting change of sediment transport in the study rivers influences the survival of brown trout populations. We also analyze how changes in flow discharge and increased sediment delivery for example due to permafrost retreat influence bedload transport and flood safety in mountain streams.

Significance
This study will help to quantify the time evolution of sediment transfer in mountain streams in response to climate change, i.e. to changed runoff and sediment input conditions. The results will support the evaluation of future flood hazards with bed load displacement in mountain streams on the one hand, and the assessment of living conditions for brown trout on the other. The developed methods will help authorities and decision makers to evaluate potential flood-related sediment hazards in Alpine mountain river catchments and to further develop sustainable flood protection and river management concepts.

Lead
Augmentation des crues, augmentation des transports de sédiments: moins de poissons?Avec le changement climatique, les périodes propices aux crues, et éventuellement l'intensité de celles-ci, vont changer. On s’attend aussi à une augmentation ou à un décalage saisonnier des volumes de gravier et de sable transportés par les rivières. Les mesures contre les crues doivent donc être adaptées. Quels effets les crues et le transport de sédiments ont-ils sur les conditions de vie des poissons?

Lay summary

Arrière-plan

Dans les 40 à 100 ans à venir, le changement climatique va influencer considérablement les crues, et de ce fait le transport de sédiments dans les rivières alpines. On s’attend à ce que la quantité, l’intensité et la périodicité des précipitations changent. Ceci pourrait conduire à des crues plus fréquentes et plus fortes. De plus, la fonte des glaciers et du pergélisol dégagent des matériaux pouvant par la suite être emportés. En conséquence, dans certaines régions, les rivières alpines transporteront davantage de gravier et de sable. En cas de forte augmentation du volume de sédiments, les mesures de protection en place ne rempliront que partiellement leur fonction. Une modification de la répartition des matériaux dans les rivières influencera aussi les conditions de vie des poissons. La survenue des crues hivernales et printanières va probablement changer, ce qui pourrait nuire au succès de la reproduction naturelle. Les répercussions exactes ne sont toutefois que très mal connues.

Objectifs et méthodes

Au cours de ce projet, les conséquences du changement climatique sur le transport de sédiments et la qualité de l’habitat des poissons seront examinées. A l’aide d’un modèle, le bilan sédimentaire des rivières choisies, soit la Petite Emme, le Brenno et la Hasliaare, sera calculé. Les prédictions du modèle seront comparées avec les crues antérieures de ces rivières. A l'aide de mesures prises dans des rivières de montagne, l’état des habitats piscicoles sera relevé. Nous déterminerons comment les modifications du transport des sédiments dans les rivières influencent la subsistance de populations de truites de rivière. En outre, nous analyserons l'effet produit par les changements des débits de crues et par les modifications dans l'apport de sédiments, par exemple en raison du retrait du pergélisol, sur les matériaux charriés dans les rivières torrentielles et sur la sécurité en cas de crues.

Portée

Le projet doit contribuer à quantifier l'évolution chronologique du charriage dans les rivières torrentielles, à laquelle il faut s'attendre en raison du changement climatique ainsi que des modifications du débit et de la quantité de sédiments. Ces résultats fournissent des bases permettant d’une part d’estimer les dangers liés à de futures crues accompagnées de déplacements de matériaux charriés dans les rivières de montagne, et d’autre part de juger des conditions de vie des truites de rivière. Les méthodes développées aideront les autorités et les décideurs à mieux évaluer les éventuels dangers liés aux matériaux charriés lors de crues dans les rivières torrentielles et à perfectionner les concepts de gestion écologique intégrée des bassins versants.