Lead
Sustainable water infrastructure planning Water supply pipes, sewers and wastewater treatment plants are in need of renovation in many places. However, current water policies in Switzerland are inadequate for the durable and strategic planning of such infrastructure. How must tools and planning processes be adapted to the changes in nature and society?

Lay summary
Background
Infrastructure in the water sector should be as long-lived as possible. However, its planning is very complex: extreme events such as droughts and floods should be taken into account to the same extent as the increasing water demand or the demographic development. Also, the stakeholders are to be included in the decision making processes. The division of waste water disposal and drinking water supply into separate organizational entities is a weak point in the planning process. Instruments are available to identify infrastructural flaws in a municipality and to recommend investment plans. But they do not make long-term planning possible – amongst other things because the necessary tools are not available.

Objectives and methods
Decision making support will be developed so that the long-term planning of water supply and wastewater treatment infrastructure can be improved. The project will strive for a balance between economic costs, ecological aspects and social values. Special attention will be given to the fact that many communities have only limited data concerning their infrastructure and that future developments cannot be predicted with certainty. Subjective preferences of the various policy-makers will be integrated by means of a multi-layered decision analysis. Decision making support will be developed and validated in several municipalities, together with the practically-oriented partners.

Significance
The tools that will be developed assist the transition from problem-based “repairs” to foresighted planning of water infrastructure. The stakeholders participating in the case studies will be sensitized for planning issues by being included in a forward-looking, joint planning process. This approach can be adapted to other difficult decision-making situations in which many different stakeholders are involved.

Lead
Planification à long terme d’infrastructures durables de distribution et de traitement de l’eau Les conduites d’eau potable, les canalisations et les stations d’épuration nécessitent un peu partout des rénovations. La politique actuelle dans le domaine de l’eau en Suisse n’est toutefois qu’insuffisamment préparée à une planification durable et stratégique de ces infrastructures.

Lay summary

Contexte
Les infrastructures de distribution et de traitement de l’eau doivent rester en état de fonctionnement aussi longtemps que possible. Leur planification est toutefois complexe: des événements extrêmes tels que sécheresses ou crues doivent être pris en compte tout comme le besoin croissant en eau ou le développement démographique. De plus, les acteurs doivent être impliqués dans les processus décisionnels. La séparation de l’élimination des eaux usées et de l’approvisionnement en eau potable en unités organisationnelles distinctes est un point faible dans la planification. Il existe certes des dispositifs permettant d’identifier les défauts dans l’infrastructure d’une commune et de proposer des plans d’investissement. Mais ils ne permettent pas une planification à long terme – entre autres parce qu’il manque les outils nécessaires.

But
Ce projet élabore des aides à la décision, afin d’améliorer la planification à long terme des infrastructures d’approvisionnement en eau et d’évacuation des eaux usées. Il aspirera à un équilibre entre les coûts économiques, les aspects écologiques et les valeurs sociales. Ce projet tiendra particulièrement compte du fait que, dans de nombreuses communes, les données exactes sur les infrastructures manquent et que le développement futur ne peut être prédit de manière certaine. A l’aide d’une analyse décisionnelle à plusieurs niveaux, les préférences subjectives des différents décideurs seront prises en compte. Les aides à la décision seront développées et validées dans plusieurs communes, en collaboration avec les partenaires issus de la pratique.

Portée
Les instruments à développer soutiennent le passage d’une «réparation» basée sur les problèmes à une planification prévoyante des infrastructures de distribution et de traitement de l’eau. Les acteurs participant aux études de cas seront sensibilisés aux questions de planification, grâce à leur inclusion dans un processus de planification communautaire et orienté vers l’avenir. Cette approche peut être adaptée à d’autres situations difficiles, nécessitant la prise de décisions et impliquant un nombre d’acteurs différents.